Just Keep Going by Bridget A. Thomas

When my husband and I moved to a new home several years ago, I had a phrase that kept me afloat. Just keep moving. As you likely know from your own experiences, moving to a new home can be overwhelming. For weeks you are packing up items in your old home. You try to strategically pack all unneeded items into neatly labeled boxes. But as you start running out of time, you just start throwing items anywhere. The waffle iron might wind up in the bathroom box or the television remote might wind up in the kitchen box. Then once you are at your new home, the fun is not over. It takes a lot of time and energy to unpack and find new homes for all of your possessions. You might look at all the boxes and feel defeated before you even begin. This is how I felt when we moved. Looking at the mountain of work in front of me, it was tempting to do nothing at all. So I kept telling myself, “Just keep moving.” To me this meant, just do something, anything. It was better than doing nothing. It might have felt like chaos, but every little bit accomplished was still progress.

Recently I was praying and God reminded me of this phrase. I was asking Him about some of the items on my plate, trying to figure out which ones should be removed and which ones should remain. I felt like I had little purpose or impact in some cases, and I wondered if I should lay those activities aside. As I said, God reminded me of this phrase, except He said it a little differently. “Just Keep Going” is what I heard in my heart. That was it. God didn’t give me any other instructions at the time. But that was enough.

In both of these stories – moving to a new home and evaluating tasks on my plate – I was feeling discouraged. The devil is good at making Christians feel discouraged. He is good at getting into our heads and making us question what we thought we knew. In times like these, it is important to just keep going. As it says in Hebrews 12:1, “… let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.”

As Christians we have a calling on our lives, we have a purpose, and we have been appointed. In John 15:16, Jesus said, “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you.”

How amazing it is to know that the Lord chose us and appointed us for a purpose. When the devil tries to bring us down, we cannot lose sight of this truth. Put one foot in front of the other and march forward on the path that the Lord has planned for you.

boy running during sunset

Photo by jonas mohamadi on Pexels.com

© 2020 Bridget A. Thomas

 

 

About Bridget

Bridget A. Thomas is the author of numerous books which hit the top of the charts and continue to help many people find true contentment in life. In her spare time, Bridget enjoys reading non-fiction, fiction, and classic literature. She also enjoys crocheting and watching baseball. Bridget and her husband live in Florida, but often travel to the Smoky Mountains in search of black bears and other wildlife. To learn more about Bridget, visit her at bridgetathomas.com.
This entry was posted in Bridget A. Thomas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Just Keep Going by Bridget A. Thomas

  1. Perth Girl says:

    A good reminder Bridget to just keep going when something makes us feel overwhelmed. You are so right that Satan enjoys getting us discouraged because that makes us want to give up. Taking those little steps as you suggested is ultimately moving us forward on the path we should be on.
    On a side note- moving house is just crazy hectic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sadly, I think we all have times when we want to give up. Some people give up too quickly. The devil likes to make the road ahead difficult and that easily sways us. I pray we can stand our ground and move forward with the strength of the Lord. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! Blessings, my friend! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s good advice. My phrase this year, among others, has been downsize. LOL. That way you don’t have to keep moving as long.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Judy says:

    It’s so easy to become frozen, unsure of which direction to go. Just Keep Going is so encouraging. I remind myself that if I’m headed in the wrong direction, God will help me turn in the right direction. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nancy J. Farrier says:

    The discouragement is real. Thank you for this encouragement. Love John 15:16. Great reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, discouragement can get the best of us, for sure. The enemy is good at getting into our heads and making us feel down. But I am glad you got some encouragement from the post! Yes John 15:16 is a wonderful reminder that we have a purpose! 💜

      Like

  5. graylisam says:

    Yes, I just recently moved. I truly had to remain motivated as well. For each stage of the move, God gave me a phrase that kept me moving forward. We moved the first of June and there are still a few large boxes stowed away with items that have no home yet though. There was one phrase that I feel God gave me specifically right before we moved which was, “Enjoy your new home!” Best wishes for you and family going forward.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Be it in May or September: Run the race | From guestwriters

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.