The Day I was Brave by Susan May Warren

So, you know that feeling when you’ve had an idea sitting in the back of your head for a while, months, even years, and it finally happens?

It’s almost unbelievable. You sit back and think–wow, I did that thing.

So, a few weeks ago, I was in Hawaii with hubs, and he (with great fear and trembling) suggested that we finally, finally do that THING–meaning, GO SCUBA DIVING. See, he’s a certified diver, but alas, I have this fear of closed places. And while the OCEAN is hardly a closed place, for some reason breathing through a tiny tube feels VERY confining.

But, I had done an introductory dive in a POOL about a year ago and I’m tired of always watching the fun stuff…so I did it.

Went 40 feet down, breathed out of a tube and discovered that I was braver than I thought. (and really, SCUBA diving is a little like flying…underwater, but with air…through a little tube…)

This is me, AFTER the event. Still alive. Grinning.

Scuba Diving

The Bible says, A longing fulfilled is sweet to the soul…and friends, this was sweet.

But I learned a couple things, too:

  1. Life is meant for DOING, not watching. For years, I’d dreamed and imagined what it would be like to SCUBA dive. But doing it opened a new world to me. I had to ask myself…was I willing to be brave?
  2. As I descended into the depths, God was there. I crawled down this rope to the depths, equalizing my pressure as I went, trying not to give into the crazy panic filling my chest. And praying. With every handhold, I discovered just enough grace not to freak out.  Just enough courage to keep going.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

  1. I stopped thinking about my fears, and what I couldn’t do—or even that I WAS doing it, and just started enjoying. Yeah, it was an accomplishment, but really—the point was to get down there with the sea creatures and marvel. And as soon as I took my eyes off the scary stuff…I started to see the beauty of the ocean.  I swam about a foot from a sea turtle, covered in yellow fish. Found a tiny octopus. Followed a parrot fish.

ShellandFish-960x540

  1. And I forgot I was ever scared. In fact, when I came to the surface, my first thought was—when can we go again?

See, leaping out in faith is not only empowering, but it opens new worlds.

Have you ever taken a leap of faith, done something terrifying only to discover it was exactly what you’d hoped—and more?  That’s a little like it felt when I started writing, too…taking that leap of faith, hoping I didn’t lose my regulator and drown.

What is God calling you to be brave about right now?  What is holding you back?

Isn’t it time to fly?

smw sig without background

Susie May

P.S. I recently took a giant step of bravery and launched into a series about smokejumpers, an idea that go while visiting the Missoula Hotshots/Smokejumpers base a few summers ago.

Trilogy Covers SML

Since then, my brain has been peculating an idea about a series about smokejumpers, and a group of wildland firefighters who come together during one very hot summer to save lives, fall in love, and find faith.  The FIRST of this series Where There’s Smoke releases May 31st and kicks off a trilogy of epic adventure romances called the Montana Fire series.

Preorder now–and get it on your KINDLE at MIDNIGHT on Memorial Day! Just in time for summer.

 

 

About Susie May

Susan May Warren is the bestselling, Christy and RITA Award–winning author of more than fifty novels whose compelling plots and unforgettable characters have won acclaim with readers and reviewers alike. The mother of four grown children, and married to her real-life hero for over 25 years, she loves travelling and telling stories about her life overseas (Russia) and northern Minnesota. Susan holds a BA in mass communications from the University of Minnesota. Several of her critically acclaimed novels have been ECPA and CBA bestsellers, were chosen as Top Picks by Romantic Times, and have won the RWA’s Inspirational Reader’s Choice contest and the American Christian Fiction Writers’ prestigious Carol Award. Her novels You Don’t Know Me and Take a Chance on Me were Christy Award winners, and six of her other books have also been finalists. In addition to her writing, Susan is a nationally acclaimed writing teacher and loves to speak at women’s events about God’s amazing grace in our lives. For exciting updates on her new releases, previous books, and more, visit her website at www.susanmaywarren.com.
Quote | This entry was posted in Susan May Warren, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Day I was Brave by Susan May Warren

  1. feistyfroggy says:

    Loved this! Beautiful pic of the sea turtle too. An underwater camera?

    Like

Leave a Reply

