He Knows by Elizabeth Goddard

by Elizabeth  Goddard

A month ago I lost my mother to diabetic complications. I knew it was coming. Eventually. We all know that no matter what we do in this life, we’ll come to the same end.

10629854_982976878379010_8574386065461977815_nThe Bible tells us, “As for man, his days are like grass, he flourishes like a flower of the field; the wind blows over it and it is gone, and its place remembers it no more.” Psalm 103:15-16 (NIV)

But is it the end or a new beginning?

Reading on, it says, “But from everlasting to everlasting, the Lord’s love is with those who fear him, and his righteousness with his children’s children–with those who keep his covenant and remember to obey his precepts.” Psalm 103:17-18(NIV)

No matter how I prepared myself that I would lose my mother to this insidious disease, the shock of it still rocks through me–a month later. Part of me wants to continue to feel this pain because I don’t want to accept that she’s gone.

A dear friend shared that the devastation and ripple through my core I feel every time I remember she’s gone is normal, and that Jesus understands this pain. It’s the pain of separation–it’s why He wept when Lazarus died. (John 11:35)

Now when I hear that
Jeremy Camp song, “He Knows,” I can feel His love wash over me.

Death and separation are our enemies! That’s what He came to this earth to conquer–the separation of death.

So the good news is. . .

We are NEVER separated from His love in this life. . .or the next. But for a brief time, we are separated from each other.

HE KNOWS. . . . and I will rest in that, knowing that I will see her again.

If you’ve experienced loss, I pray these words comfort you too.

Blessings!

Beth

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to He Knows by Elizabeth Goddard

  1. Shannon says:

    That is BEAUTIFUL. Thank you so much for sharing!! Love you!!! ❤

    Like

  2. Ann Ellison says:

    Beautiful post. I have experienced loss and I too have felt the beautiful comfort and peace that can only come from God.

    Like

  3. Vicki Hinze says:

    Beth, it is so like you to be grieving and to still reach out to comfort others. I’m sorry for your loss, and grateful to you for your open heart and loving ways. May God bless and comfort you always.

    Like

  4. You are in my heart and just maybe our mothers are dancing together

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.