My Techie Thanksgiving

You can tell it’s NaNoWriMo month, I forgot to post once or twice. I apologize. November is always a busy month around here, and that’s without the fun of writing a 50K novel in 30 days!

I thought I’d share a fun tradition I’ve had with my family for Thanksgiving. Growing up when I knew it was Thanksgiving I knew there would be stuffing. Pumpkin pie. Celery with cream cheese. Fruit salad. Homemade gravy.

Thanksgiving photo: Thanksgiving 3184734z0fb8q7zyz.jpg

Then I got married and had kids, and the last few Thanksgiving days it has been just us at home. The first year I prepared the same foods I grew up with. Then I watched many of the foods go untouched. My kids don’t like pumpkin pie. No one but me likes the celery and cream cheese. I was disappointed at first, but then I figured why not make this a family event where everyone has a say?

We’re a plugged in family. My husband is a programmer and our teen son is gifted in the same area. Our tween somehow got custody of the family iPad and is pretty good at it. With that in mind, I created a survey for them to fill out so I would know how to plan the Thanksgiving meal.

Some of the questions are silly, but most give me a good idea what to put on the grocery list for the big day. I started this three years ago, and this year our daughter asked why I hadn’t sent out the survey yet. Well, I got right on it.

It would have been tempting to grieve the changes I grew up with, but instead I chose to make new memories with my own family. For that, I’m thankful. As you prepare for your day, I thought I’d give you a glimpse of our little survey. You don’t have to answer it, but I thought it would give you a smile as you’re knee deep in gravy and stuffing.

Click here to take survey

Have a blessed, laughter-filled Thanksgiving.

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to find freedom in Christ by surrendering the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of the new contemporary romance series SURRENDERING HEARTS (Anchored Hearts, Repairing Hearts, +four more.) Her other romance series is SURRENDERING TIME (Entrusted, Entangled, Engaged.) She also co-wrote a YA series with her daughter, SURRENDERING STINKIN’ THINKIN’ (You’re Beautiful, You’re Amazing, You’re Brilliant.) Her stand-alone romances include MATCH MADE IN HEAVEN and RESTORING CHRISTMAS. Julie maintains a blog at juliearduini.com and participates in the team blog Christians Read. She resides in Ohio with her husband and two children. Learn more by visiting her at https://linktr.ee/JulieArduini.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.