When Life is Hard, He is Faithful by Elizabeth Goddard

IMG_5385

Old Faithful in Yellowstone National Park (my photo) God is Faithful!!!

When I was growing up we watched the Walton’s and the Andy Griffith Show. Little House on the Prairie. Leave it to Beaver. We made fun of the Beaver show because whose mother wore a dress with pearls while she cleaned the house and cooked dinner, anyway?

Those were good wholesome prime time television shows worth watching. Here’s the part where I could get off track and start talking about what our kids are watching on television these days. Don’t EVEN get me started. We’re so far gone now I don’t know how we would ever get back on track if more than half of us wanted to.

But getting back on track—at least for this blog post—the TV shows represented a simpler time, sure. Happier times. They gave me the impression that life is good and will only get better. I can’t blame TV alone—my family was a happy family. I enjoyed the love of a mother and father who loved each other, and the love of grandparents on both sides. Sure everyone had struggles, but in the end, you’d find yourself sitting on the porch and rocking in a chair or a swing and listening to the locusts starting up their rhythmic buzz for the evening.

Peace and joy. Safety and security. Those were a given in life.

I’ve now lived several decades. Okay, well, half a century. There. Satisfied? I don’t know about you, but I haven’t found life to be anything like the Andy Griffith show. Anything like Mayberry. Nothing is simple or easy. At all.

Everyone is rushing around. Everything is so urgent. No one cares about anyone. We all stare at our phones to avoid conversation.

And life is just plain hard. I mean HARD. Paying insurance and taxes and insurance and bills.  Did I mention insurance? (health and car). Working hard to make ends meet and never getting there.

If that’s not enough, one pain after another, one crisis after another just keeps coming.

Did my parents experience this? Did my grandparents? Were they just hiding the fact that life can be harsh and brutal? Was the Andy Griffith show a complete lie?

Who’s with me? Give me an amen.

The stresses of life can be enormous and overwhelming. In order to survive I’ve had to turn my thoughts and focus to Jesus only.

Our days are like grass, Scripture says. We wither and die and are no more.

But here’s the thing. I figure that God wouldn’t have given us Philippians 4:8 if we weren’t going to need it.

In Philippians 4:8, Scripture (KJV) tells us, Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

Through all of life’s cruel struggles, there is beauty. There is grace and mercy. There is forgiveness. And yes, peace and joy CAN be found in Him.

Find your place in Him, friend. Focus on Christ alone.

God is good.

For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations. Palm 100:5

You are so good, God!

Worship and soak up His love.

Elizabeth Goddard is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than thirty romance novels and counting. She is a Carol Award winner and a Daphne Du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery and Suspense finalist. She writes adventure romantic suspense stories set in stunning places. Check out her Amazon Autor page: http://amzn.to/2fpOOLx

 

 

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When Life is Hard, He is Faithful by Elizabeth Goddard

  1. bythebook724 says:

    Philippians 4:8 is one of my favorites. You are not alone in your feelings about life. I read this and it hit me with every line that I could have written each word from my own experience. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. Cate Nolan says:

    Good morning, Elizabeth,

    Thank you for such a heartening post.

    I remember years ago reading that shows like Dynasty and Dallas were a turning point – the complete antithesis to the shows you mentioned – and that they precipitated a decline in society by creating a dissatisfaction in people. Instead of being content with what they had, people wanted the glitz and glamor of the Carringtons and Ewings. I suspect that’s too easy an answer, but I can see a truth in it too.
    Like you, I find myself relying more and more on Jesus, on my faith. I love the passages you shared. I also take comfort in John 16:33. “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

    Wishing you a blessed weekend.

    Cate

    Like

  3. Ann Ellison says:

    So true and I have experienced God’s faithfulness through the hard times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

