Unnoticed Moss by Nancy J. Farrier

Multnomah_Falls,_Columbia_River_Gorge,_OR_2006_(6506556421)

By inkknife_2000

 

We have seen so much devastation in recent weeks. Hurricanes. Fires. Flooding. Since I live in the West my focus has been on the horrible fires. Lives have been lost, homes destroyed, beautiful forests ruined. A heartbreaking loss for so many.

 

This past week my daughter shared an article with me about Multnomah Falls in Oregon. I love visiting the Fall—as do over two million people who go there every year. This landmark is closed indefinitely. Not because of the beautiful trees that burned. The Falls is closed because of the moss that burned. Moss? There was moss there? I remember seeing moss along the roadside and on trees, but didn’t pay much attention. Why would the moss be such a big deal?

 

According to the article, moss is the glue that holds everything together. The rocks overlooking the Falls, and the roads leading to the landmark, are suddenly missing a key element for stabilization. Vibrations can now make the rocks tumble to the pathways and roads putting people in danger. Big chunks of falling rock could come down at any minute. All because of something we normally don’t pay attention to, but that is a key factor in holding everything together. Moss. (You can read that article here.)

 

This got me thinking about the moss in my life. Those elements that are not usually seen, but give me stability in my everyday life and in my writing life. What is that glue I so desperately need?

 

In my life:

Prayer/Bible study: I know these are two separate areas, but they go hand-in-hand. Without Bible study my prayer life flags. Without prayer, my Bible study is shallow and without the depth I crave. Romans 12:12 tells us to be, “continuing steadfastly in prayer.” I may not be on my knees praying all day in the literal sense, but in the figurative sense I try to maintain this attitude and an open line of communication with God.

 

Family: My family is a constant source of encouragement. Yes, there are times of hardship and discouragement, but the good outweighs the negative. I love my time with them and don’t know what I would do without them.

 

Church: My soul needs the refreshment I find at church. Not just from attending once or twice a week, but from serving too. This glue is not all about me and what I need, but is strengthened when I reach out to others and lift them up in whatever way I can. I love serving God and helping my church family. Hebrews 10:24-25 tells me to consider others and to not forsake the fellowship of others.

 

Work: Ephesians 2:10 tells me God has prepared the work he wants me to do. Being obedient and working hard for Him keeps me focused on what is truly important. Whatever work he calls me to, I find that when I do that job there is satisfaction I never anticipated—even with the jobs I dread or don’t think I can do. God is amazing.

 

In my writing life:

Writing is one of the works God has called me to do and in order to do it right I must make sure the moss or glue is in place. What is this moss? It is very similar to what I need in my everyday life.

 

Prayer: I start my day with prayer and end my day with prayer. I pray before I write and when I write. I pray for God to give me the words I need, and I pray for those who will someday read those words, that their lives might be touched for Him. Bob Hostetler from the Steve Laube Agency wrote and excellent blog about writers and prayer. You can read it here.

 

Bible Study: If I am going to represent God as a writer and in my books, I must study His word and know His truth. With each book, I ask what He wants me to say and what truths He wants to come across in the story. Without the Bible, my writing would be nonsensical and not worth reading.

 

Family: Once again, my family is supportive and encouraging. I am blessed that way. They are a part of my glue.

 

Church: Without the soul food I get each week, I would not be the person I am. Whether I am helping someone else or being helped there is strength involved. The worship, the message, the hugs and greetings. All are combined to keep me glued to God, which is where I need to be.

 

My Writing Community: I love writers. So often, when I am discouraged, one of my friends will write a blog or post a work of encouragement that is just what I need to hear. We share the ups and downs of what can often be a lonely profession.

 

What about you? Have you ever thought about the moss that holds you together? Those little things that often go unnoticed, but are essential to who you are? Think about them. Even though no one else notices, take the time to be thankful for those gifts.

 

About Nancy J. Farrier

Nancy J Farrier is a best-selling, award winning author who lives in Southern California’s Mojave Desert. She loves the sun and mountains. Nancy and her husband have five children and two grandsons. When Nancy isn’t writing, she loves reading, needlecraft, playing with her cats, and spending time with her family.
This entry was posted in Nancy J. Farrier and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

