A Few of My Favorite Books by Nancy J. Farrier

One of my favorite activities is reading. I love books in almost any genre: romance, suspense, thriller, young adult, fantasy – and the list goes on. I keep track of what I’ve read every year. I decided to look back over 2017 and pick a few of my favorites to share with you. This was not an easy task because I have a lot of favorites and would love to share them all.

 

Moutain Between UsI love discovering new authors, or new-to-me authors, don’t you? Those whose books impact my life and have characters that leave a lasting impression. For me, one of those authors is Charles Martin. I first listened to his book, The Mountain Between Us, on audiobook. Then I listened to the same book with my husband when we were on a trip. I enjoyed the second time almost as much as the first because there were so many nuances to the story that I missed the first time. The Mountain Between Us is coming out as a movie. I can’t wait to see it even though the trailer let me know there are differences in the story lines.

 

Conspiracy of SilenceOne of my favorite genres is suspense or thriller. I love heart-pounding action and convoluted plots filled with strong characters. Ronie Kendig’s, Conspiracy of Silence held me spellbound as I read. I am looking forward to continuing this series filled with echoes of current events in and plenty of tension.

 

 

The Red Door InnFor the sweeter, contemporary story, I thoroughly enjoyed reading Liz Johnson’s, The Red Door Inn. Her setting and plot were enhanced by characters that were multilayered with problems I could relate to. As restorations were done on the inn, God was working in the hearts of her characters, and in the heart of the reader. Very sweet and made me long for more.

 

UnblemishedAnother new author to me is Sara Ella. Her story, Unblemished, is for the young adult audience, but the truths there are so far-reaching. Her heroine struggles with trying to hide from people because of a mark on her face. This story of our negative self-image is one for all of us. How we see ourselves may not be who we really are.  Very interesting and well done.

 

 

The Lady and the LionheartFans of historical fiction will enjoy Joanne Bischof’s, The Lady and the Lionheart. The vivid detail of life in the late 1800’s comes alive. We travel with the circus and learn of characters and their plights. The emotional impact of this story will stay with you. An excellent read.

 

 

I hope you enjoyed this little glimpse of my favorites. Maybe you will consider one of these books when you are looking for your next read.

 

 

 

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

About Nancy J. Farrier

Nancy J Farrier is a best-selling, award winning author who lives in Southern California’s Mojave Desert. She loves the sun and mountains. Nancy and her husband have five children and two grandsons. When Nancy isn’t writing, she loves reading, needlecraft, playing with her cats, and spending time with her family.
This entry was posted in Nancy J. Farrier, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Few of My Favorite Books by Nancy J. Farrier

  1. courtney207 says:

    We have the same taste in books!!! I’ve read and enjoyed all of these, except The Mountain Between Us. I have a copy of it and plan to read it before I see the movie! I read and liked Charles Martin’s Down Where My Love Lives duology, so I think I will like “mountain”, too.

    Like

    • Nancy J. Farrier says:

      I also read Charles Martin’s, When Crickets Cry. Excellent book, but I will say there were places when more than crickets were crying. 🙂 I highly recommend it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

