Introducing Guest Author Colleen Coble

Colleen 2012 Black

Write Who You Are

 

I’d always wanted to write from the first moment I wrote a story in first grade. That dream went underground for a while when raising our children, but I’d take it out and blow the dust off now and then. When my brother Randy was killed at 37 in a freak lightning accident, I knew I had to follow my dream.

I’ve always read a lot and during the 80s and 90s it seemed there was no hope in any of the books I was reading. If I was going to write, I wanted to leave readers with a sense of hope. I don’t want to preach at them—I want to write a really compelling mystery story without language or sex scenes. And I’m a Christian, so my worldview is automatically going to come through the stories. My characters usually struggle with something I’m struggling through. And that’s the way it is with any author. You can read Stephen King or Dean Koontz and understand their worldview. It’s impossible for the author to hide it.

Readers often ask me why I write intrigue and mystery into my romances. I love the puzzle of a murder mystery and the thrill of a heroine in danger. I grew up on Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys and loved pretending I was Nancy Drew on the trail of a mystery. I’m all about relationships too, so I love watching my characters work out their internal issues as they fall in love. But I have to have that mystery element in there too.

After puzzling through it for a long time, I finally realized it’s my strong sense of justice that compels me to have my heroine up against seemingly insurmountable odds and facing danger at every turn. In this world we don’t see much justice. Murderers go unpunished. Bad things happen to good people. But I know that justice is sometimes just delayed in this world. In the end, God will make sure that justice prevails. In the meantime, I can create a world of justice in my books! I can make sure the murderer gets what he deserves, that the hero saves the day, and that the heroine prevails against the problems she’s been working to overcome.

Beneath Copper Falls cover comp 2

Beneath Copper Falls is exactly that. My heroine is running for safe haven back to Rock Harbor, but she finds out you can run from trouble. J My Rock Harbor series has been a favorite with readers since the first book, Without a Trace, came out, and it was fun to go back there for me too!

How about you? If you read romantic mysteries, what draws you to the genre?

Colleen Coble

USAToday bestselling author Colleen Coble’s novels have won or finaled in awards ranging from the Best Books of Indiana, the ACFW Carol Award, the Romance Writers of America RITA, the Holt Medallion, the Daphne du Maurier, National Readers’ Choice, and the Booksellers Best. She has nearly 4 million books in print and writes romantic mysteries because she loves to see justice prevail. Colleen is CEO of American Christian Fiction Writers. She lives with her husband Dave in Indiana. Visit her website at www.colleencoble.com and connect at Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/colleencoblebooks?ref=hl

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Mary Alford, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing Guest Author Colleen Coble

  1. maryjalford says:

    Welcome, Colleen, we are so happy to have you here today.

    Like

  2. Gail Hollingsworth says:

    Colleen, I’ve been a fan of yours for a long time. Including the books you’ve written with Denise, Dianne and Kristin.
    I enjoy suspense/mystery with romance. Anything to get the ole ticket going a little faster. That’s important at my age! A little jump start every now and then.
    I love to RV camp when I get the chance. Loved Dianne’s book RV There Yet. I do miss her writing. Have you ever given thought about a mystery/ suspense with a family on an RV trip. Staying in national parks, etc?

    Like

  3. colleencoble says:

    That was a fun book by Diann, wasn’t it, Gail? Hmm, I’ve never thought of a mystery suspense on an RV trip but I love the idea! I’ll noodle on it. 🙂

    Like

  4. Every time I see your face my heart smiles

    Like

Leave a Reply

