Community by Tara Randel

As I get ready to attend the Romance Writers of America annual conference next week, I can’t help but get excited about seeing so many wonderful writer friends. I’m looking forward to visiting with women I only get to see once a year and catch up on their busy lives and careers. Authors spend a lot of time alone, so being part of a group that can understand our needs is valuable. I’ve called on my writer friends when I’m having trouble with a work in progress, need industry advice, or just want to chat about the writer’s life. It’s great to know I can pick up the phone and chat with such great friends.

We all have groups of people, communities, if you will, that help us in different areas of our lives. If you are in the medical profession, there are associations that keep you up-to-date on the latest technologies. If you work in an office, there are those you can rely on for problem solving or might be task-oriented to help you get that proposal or work project in on time. Maybe it’s a group of friends you meet with once a month for dinner or some kind of social event. You can see where I’m going with this, the list goes on and on.

As much as I love my professional and social friends, I could never get through life without my Christian friends. Those who walk with me in the day-to-day of loving and serving God.

About a year ago, after our church merged with another, so many of my friends scattered for various reasons. We tried to stay in touch, but it didn’t seem to work. But those of us who had prayed together in an intercessor group decided meeting once a month was important. We still pray together and now meet regularly for a Bible study. These are folks who know my heart, know the love I have for God, know the heartaches and victories I’ve experienced with the Lord. And I know the same about them. It binds us together.

Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken. Ecclesiastes 4:12

Communities are important. Friendship is invaluable. Linking arms to serve God together, pure joy. So hug the people in your community today and remind them how important they are in your life.

Tara Randel is an award-winning, USA Today bestselling author of fifteen novels. Family values, a bit of mystery and, of course, love and romance, are her favorite themes, because she believes love is the greatest gift of all. She is currently working on new stories for Harlequin Heartwarming, The Business of Weddings series, as well as books in the Amish Inn Mysteries. Visit Tara at www.tararandel.com. Like her on Facebook at Tara Randel Books

This entry was posted in Tara Randel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

