Those Specific Prayers by Julie Arduini

Those Specific Prayers_edited

Those Specific Prayers by Julie Arduini

Last year was not my finest hour. I knew things would be busy as I transitioned from small publisher to my own writing and speaking ministry, Surrendered Scribe Media. I was aware I had one book to re release, one to release, and another to write to finish the series.

I was preparing myself to tackle the time frame, formatting what really was 4 books because both releases needed formatting for electronic and soft cover. I was observant that looming over all of that was one son’s wedding and another son’s graduation.

None of us was prepared for the toll it took.

I was so consumed by meeting the release deadlines I made for myself I forgot to drink. You would wonder who would do such a thing?

Well, me.

I forgot to drink and eat for hours and hours. I became very dehydrated and ended up in a lot of pain. I think mentally I pushed myself so hard that I re wired my hormones, because everything flipped on me. I’m of that middle age where things change, but menopause is something I’ve dealt with for years. Whatever that was, it was scarier than anything you’d find in a suspense movie.

This was a scenario none of us forgot, so when the deadline for ENGAGED came into view. I decided to be proactive. I picked up on my devotional reading, adding The Daniel Prayer by Anne Graham Lotz to the mix, as well as Esther Fleece’s No More Faking Fine. Those pages were anointed and did so much to not only heal things I didn’t even know where wrong, but prepare me for everything on my plate.

We also take one dinner a week and pray as a family. It’s an extended time where we share praises and requests and we press in together. I was honest to say I was nervous about the deadline and didn’t want to turn into whatever last year was. I asked for supernatural peace. I didn’t want any emotion or reaction I could manufacture, but all resources from Him.

And He delivered. Instead of having an all or nothing mentality when it came to formatting, I took things in increments. I set a deadline to finish each day, and then I did other things. I remembered to drink. My emotions were steady and I felt such peace.

When we shared praises and prayers this week, our daughter in her prayer thanked God for “Keeping Mom sane when finishing the book.” I smiled, but it really is a legitimate praise. I often equate writing to my husband’s favorite hobby, golf. There are days that are so tough you want to toss the laptop and walk away. Then there are the times, like writing and releasing ENGAGED, that go so smooth, you want to walk on air.

If you have a lot going on and you are feeling stressed about it, I challenge you to take every single thought to Christ. Lean on Him hard and be specific in what you need. He is for you, and He will deliver the best plan for you. If you aren’t sure what to ask for, I always ask for wisdom, discernment, the Armor of God, and the Fruit of the Spirit.

While I’m “chatting” away, ENGAGED is now available for electronic devices. If you don’t have a Kindle, no worries. Download the FREE Amazon app and you will be ready to read your favorite eBooks. The print version will be ready in early July. This is Trish’s story about surrendering failed dreams for God’s plans.Engaged

If you’d like Book 1, ENTRUSTED, it is a FREE eRead at juliearduini.com. I even added a bonus novella, MATCH MADE IN HEAVEN for those that sign up for ENTRUSTED.

Lastly, I was a guest at Wholly Loved this week, and the post is similar as far as me sharing vulnerable places and how God came through. I believe it will encourage you!

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

