Finding Rest by Tara Randel

I did something a few weeks ago I haven’t done in ages. I took a day off and went to the beach. That’s right. I packed up a chair, sunglasses and a jug of water and hit the sand. And enjoyed every precious moment.

The sad thing is, I live about twenty minutes away from a beautiful beach and I can’t tell you the last time I drove out there. It took a visitor from up north to get me out of my normal schedule and take a day off. Granted, I work from home and set my own hours, but I’ve been writing steadily for the past few years without many breaks. As I sat under a gorgeous blue sky and gazed out over the Gulf, I realized I need more days like this. Downtime is important. Our minds need to rest so our creativity can find room to soar.

IMG_20170420_115152198

It also occurred to me that I need to appreciate more the picturesque world God has created. I make sure to spend quiet time with God daily, no matter the number of pages I need to write or how many deadlines are approaching. But to visit God while sitting under the sun? Time well spent.

But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. Isaiah 40:31

I didn’t realize it, but I needed my spiritual strength renewed. I needed to rest in the Almighty.

Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge.  Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge. Psalm 62:5-8

IMG_20170420_121138920_HDR(1)

Doesn’t this look like a great place to work? Or read? Or daydream?

May the favor of the Lord our God rest on us; establish the work of our hands for us— yes, establish the work of our hands. Psalm 90:17

IMG_20170420_120950895

Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. Psalm 91:1

IMG_20170420_121236124

Sometimes we need a reminder to rest in the Lord. Whether it be at the beach, hiking through the mountains, sitting quietly on your back porch, or gazing at your children or grandchildren, there are many ways we find Him. I encourage you to find your special place of rest in the Lord this week. Keep returning there so it doesn’t become a long overdue trip to the beach, but a way of life.

the-wedding-march-361x579

Tara Randel is an award-winning, USA TODAY bestselling author of fifteen novels. Family values, a bit of mystery and, of course, love and romance, are her favorite themes, because she believes love is the greatest gift of all. Look for her newest Heartwarming release, The Wedding March, available now. Visit Tara at www.tararandel.com. Like her on Facebook at Tara Randel Books

This entry was posted in Tara Randel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

