Pray for Your City by Tara Randel

I always look forward to spring. Here in Florida, the temperatures are already inching into the eighties. Guess we’re going to fast-forward into summer. But when I venture outside in the morning, I can catch cool breezes and the scent of flowers sweetening the air. Everything is blooming, especially my azaleas. I only wish the beautiful pink and while flowers lasted longer than a few weeks.

20140222_162352

It’s the time of year folks are out bike riding or visiting the beach. Tourists are here, busy sightseeing in our quaint small towns or at the large attractions. It would be easy to take for granted this lovely place where we’ve planted roots, but when I look out my windows, into a green yard bursting with the colors of spring, I know I’m fortunate to be right where God put me.

Because God put me here. This is where I met my husband, married and raised my family. Where I have good friends, where family lives nearby, where I plan to retire.

It’s also the area God has called me to pray over. Each one of us has an area God has called you to; to raise a family, to attend your church, to work in the community. To pray.

My prayer group decided to pray for our city this spring, using the prayer guide Seek God for the City 2017. It’s an awesome booklet put out by WayMakers, with daily prayers spanning March 1 to Palm Sunday. Each day has a scripture verse, prayer and a target group of people or places to pray for. It’s been eye-opening, a great privilege and a stretch to look beyond the comfort of my own four walls and intercede for my city. No matter if you live in a small town or a large metropolis, your city needs prayer.

Do you think about your city? See it as God sees it? What plans He has in store for the community? Do you remember to pray for government leaders? For those making decisions? Are the leaders making Godly decisions? How about the police and fire departments? Hospitals? Schools? All these questions, and more, have filled my spirit this month as I’ve cried out for every part of my city to be touched by the favor of God.

Our nation has faced some very divided and tense moments since this year started. No matter what you think about politics or people’s responses to it, we still need to keep those in positions of authority in prayer. To ask God to protect them and give them His wisdom. You may pray from the security of your own home, or maybe join a prayer walk through your city. However you chose, make sure to take time to lift your town in prayer. You live there. You should be invested in what happens, because we are all a part of God’s Kingdom.

“If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” 2 Chronicles 7:14

The next time you drive through your neighborhood, or down Main Street, or within the boundaries of your city, lift up a prayer that God will have His place. That your city will prosper. That love would abound. That we would unite, as one people, under the blessings of our Father. It’s exciting to think of the possibilities knowing God is in control!

Tara Randel is an award-winning, USA TODAY bestselling author of fifteen novels. Family values, a bit of mystery and, of course, love and romance, are her favorite themes, because she believes love is the greatest gift of all. She is currently working on new stories for Harlequin Heartwarming, The Business of Weddings series, as well as books in the Amish Inn Mysteries. Look for her newest release, The Wedding March. Visit Tara at www.tararandel.com. Like her on Facebook at Tara Randel Books

This entry was posted in Tara Randel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

