Introducing Christian Suspense Author Rachel Dylan

I’m excited to announce a new feature here at the Christians Read Blog. Each month, we will be introducing you to a different Christian author.

This month, we’re happy to have Christian Suspense author Rachel Dylan with us to tell us a little about herself and her writing.

Welcome, Rachel.

rachel dylan

Hello, everyone! Rachel Dylan here. Thanks for having me as a guest on your blog today. I’m a lawyer by day and a Christin fiction author by weekend. I say weekend because that’s my special writing time.

I write a couple of different series. My latest book is Fatal Accusation, and it’s book 2 in the Windy Ridge legal thriller series. This series is different than the rest of my books because it tackles the topic of spiritual warfare. My Danger in the Deep South series is a more traditional romantic suspense. And I’m super excited about my new series—Atlanta Justice which will debut this September, which is a legal romantic suspense.

Rachel Dylan book cover

I was asked the question of what drew me to write Christian fiction. It was definitely not a direct path, but it’s one I’m so thankful I’ve taken. I’ve always loved to write. I wrote poems and stories as a child. I was also a voracious reader. But not until my fourth year practicing law at a large firm did I decide I was going to write a romance novel. I was jaded by so many things at work, that I needed to do something for me. Something that let me explore a totally different part of myself. The first manuscript wasn’t faith based, and it wasn’t particularly good either—LOL. But I found that the more I wrote, the more I enjoyed it. Writing became an important outlet for me from the high stress and pressure I was under working at a big law firm.

Then as it usually happens, the Lord intervenes when you don’t expect it. Life also intervened with a series of events that changed me and caused me to re-evaluate things. It was at that point that I found myself re-connecting with my faith. A faith that had at one point faded into the background.

Once I started down that road, then I decided that I wanted to focus my efforts on writing stories of faith. I was literally growing in my faith through the writing journey, and it felt like I had really found my voice. I also write stories about lawyers because it’s what I know best and I have so many stories to tell!

I’m often asked why do I spent my weekends writing when I could be doing other things. And the answer is that writing is my passion. And writing stories of faith with characters that have real struggles is important to me. I love connecting with readers. You can find me at www.RachelDylan.com.

Why do you write or read Christian fiction? Who are your favorite authors?

This is a Christians Read Guest article hosted by Mary Alford

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Mary Alford, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Introducing Christian Suspense Author Rachel Dylan

  1. maryjalford says:

    Rachel, thanks so much for joining us today. As a writer, my journey to being published started kind of like yours. I wrote suspense, but not Christian suspense. Then I started reading Christian suspense and realized that was where God was leading me. As a reader, I love to read anything that is Christian suspense and there are plenty of good authors out there.

    Like

  2. Beth Fiscus says:

    Rachel is a great author and a wonderful person! I love reading her books.

    Like

  3. Ann Ellison says:

    I really enjoy Christmas suspense. I enjoyed Rachel’s interview and I love her books. I love yours too Mary.

    Like

  4. Evelyn Hill says:

    Christian fiction can restore my faith in reading 🙂
    A friend recommended a very well written dystopian novel, so I read it. Even for a dystopian novel, this was an incredibly depressing story. Characters kept committing suicide because everything was so hopeless. As I read, hoping that at least the heroine would survive, I was soaking up all this hopelessness. Then I read a Christian novel and it was like coming out of a tunnel, out of darkness into light again. Not just a palate cleanser, my whole mental outlook was refreshed. There was hope again.
    Which type of story would I like to read? Hmmn… not really a tough choice there 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

