New Christmas Traditions

by Elizabeth Goddard

Every Christmas of my life I have spent at home with my parents. But that’s changing this year. Mom passed on to be with the Lord in April, and whether I want the change or not, it has happened. Christmas won’t be the same without her. Now seems like the right time to change everything about how we’ve celebrated Christmas as a family for decades.

My mother loved Christmas. I think she must have decorated every inch of the house. She always made sure, too, that her kiddoes had plenty of gifts from Santa, and the tradition carried on with the grandchildren. I found myself stressing over wanting to please my mother, hoping that the appropriate display of toys from Santa for my children met with her approval. She was the glue that kept us all together over Christmas. No matter where we lived we traveled hundreds ( or thousands) of miles through ice and snow to be home for that special holiday.

How I loved that moment when I walked into my parents’ home (my childhood home) and breathed in those good and warm smells that come with the season, and saw all the decorations. Saw the loving smile on her face (and Dad’s).

With her passing it seems that everyone has spread their wings to fly off in new directions and start new traditions.  I have to think of my kids still at home with me. How can I make my home the kind of place they want to bring their spouses for Christmas?

I’m going to miss Mom terribly. But the good news is I will see her again one day because she is with the Lord now, whose birth we celebrate on this most special of all holidays.

Will this Christmas be a first Christmas without a loved-one for you? If so, I pray for God’s grace and peace in your life as you remember them, and also celebrate Christ’s birth. How wonderful that God sent his only son!

“Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.” Luke 2:14 (NIV)

May you have a blessed and Merry Christmas!

Elizabeth Goddard

P.S. If you love romantic suspense never miss a book. Follow me on Bookbub! 

Meet the Wilde brothers in Wilderness, Inc. TARGETED FOR MURDER available now. UNDERCOVER PROTECTOR coming in January!

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

