God’s Got It by Tara Randel

I’m not one of those people who blogs about my political affiliation or uses social media to state my opinions. And before you click away, no, I’m not going to start now. What I am a proponent for is knowing that God is in control.

Win or lose, people will either but upset or elated over the results of the current election. Some are already crying gloom and doom. Others are waiting to see what will happen. But no matter if your candidate won or not, God is still in control. I went to bed on Election night with peace and woke up the next morning not at all concerned by who won. That’s how much trust I have with my heavenly Father.

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” Matthew 6:25-27

Now before you accuse me of sticking my head in the sand, I’ll let you know that I followed the candidates. Kept up with the issues at hand. Voted my conscience.

What we shouldn’t be doing is name-calling and pointing fingers. What we should be doing is praying for our President, his advisors and all the elected government officials, that they would use Godly wisdom when making decisions affecting this nation. Like whoever is in office or not, that person is in a position of authority and we should respect the office.

Here’s the thing. I think America is great. Is always has been. To me, that ideal has never changed. We get to vote here. We get to speak our minds without the threat of being arrested. We can work for a large company or start our own business. We can live in any state in this vast country of ours. It is the American spirit, the American people and their ingenuity, that make us a great nation.

This has been a busy week. Daylight Savings, Election Day, and on Friday, Veteran’s Day. What we should be doing is thanking the brave men and women who served our country at great sacrifice. My daughter, relatives and friends should be honored. Because they are part of what makes America great.

As we head into Thanksgiving, let’s remember what this nation has birthed, endured and triumphed over. Let’s unite with words of affirmation and love. And most of all, let’s remember, no matter what, God is in control.

Tara Randel is an award-winning, USA TODAY bestselling author of twelve novels. She is currently working on new stories for Harlequin Heartwarming, The Business of Weddings series, as well as books in a new series, Amish Inn Mysteries. Visit Tara at www.tararandel.com. Like her on Facebook at Tara Randel Books

 

 

This entry was posted in Tara Randel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

