God’s Rose by Tara Randel

When I moved into my house almost ten years ago, there were two sticks growing under the living room window. After inspecting them, I discovered they were rose plants. Pretty sickly and, like I said, just a prickly stick. I decided to transplant them to an wooden fence close by. I figured, what’s the worst that can happen? I didn’t think they would survive in their current location. Why not give them a chance to thrive elsewhere?

To be honest, I forgot about them. Planted other healthy plants that grew and flourished around the sticks. But to my surprise, every once in a while, I would get a single rose blooming against all odds.

To this day, the sticks, which are still sticks, are growing and create a beautiful flower a few times a year. I took this picture just the other day.

img_20161010_091455939

While I was contemplating the beautiful rose, I got to thinking about the way we blossom under God’s care, even in the most trying situations imaginable. God always has a plan, whether we grow and flourish in one spot, or if God moves us to another, knowing full well He is in control. We might think, how can this move possibly benefit me, yet sometimes we’re surprised by the beautiful circumstances arising from what looks like a dead end.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Jeremiah 29:11

When it is God’s will for us to prosper, we will prosper no matter where we are located.

I never thought the roses would survive when I moved them, yet they did. Many times we don’t know what will happen in our lives; what decisions to make, what will happen if I do this or that. But God knows. He’s with us in the dry places, He’s with us in the abundant rain. He’s with us when we feel dormant, He’s with us when we blossom under His loving hand.

Sometimes, all it takes is a single rose, growing under adverse conditions, to remind us how much God loves us and knows what is best for us. When we begin to seek God and ask him how we can grow in Him, in any situation, He is always quick to answer, usually producing a beautiful flower along the way.

This entry was posted in Tara Randel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

