It’s Graduation Day…to all the grandparents out there

The reason grandchildren and grandparents get along so well is that they have a common enemy. ~Sam Levenson

I remember when I was a child thinking that people who were in their thirties were old. If you were fifty, you were positively ancient. Beyond that, well…you get the picture.

Most all of us have thought the same thing when we were young. I always found it amusing that my parents got smarter as I got older.

It’s amazing how grandparents seem so young once you become one. ~Author Unknown

Now, at the ripe old age of 57, its funny how my prospective on things have changed. 57 doesn’t seem nearly as old as it did when I was a kid.

A grandfather is someone with silver in his hair and gold in his heart. ~Author Unknown

I married a man with two boys and I became an instant stepmom. It was a wonderful experience. They are my boys although they are now grown.

My grandchild has taught me what true love means. It means watching Scooby-Doo cartoons while the basketball game is on another channel. ~Gene Perret

As parents, we all know the pressure there is to make sure our kids turn into responsible adults. It’s hard every day of the week. If you’re lucky, you don’t kill them and they become adults, get married, and have children of their own.

They say genes skip generations. Maybe that’s why grandparents find their grandchildren so likeable. ~Joan McIntosh

And then for you it’s graduation day!

I don’t remember my dad’s parents. They were gone before I was born. Same of my mom’s mother. But I do remember my grandpa. Even today I can still picture him, larger than life, yet kind and gentle. I still miss him.

Never in my wildest dreams could I have imagined how special being a grandparent would be. My husband and I have three granddaughters and let me tell you, they are my heart.

Grandparents are there to help the child get into mischief they haven’t thought of yet. ~Gene Perret

We have a saying in our house and I’m sure it’s the same at all grandparents’ home. What happens at grandma and paw paw’s, stays at grandma and paw paw’s. And let me tell you, that’s true. Being a grandparent is truly a gift from God.

So if you’re a grandparent are about to become one, congratulations. You’ve just received one of the highest of honors of all times. Its graduation day and you’ve just become a grandparent. Enjoy the fun.

Only the best parents graduate to become grandparents.

 

All the best…

 

Mary Alford

http://www.maryalford.net

 

 

This entry was posted in Mary Alford, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Graduation Day…to all the grandparents out there

  1. Janet Estridge says:

    I too married into a ready made family. Unfortunately, due to divorce and custody issues, we don’t get to see our grandchildren as much as we would like. I envy those who do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

