Flirting with My Ex by Julie Arduini

You know authors can be a tad dramatic, right?

Such is the case with yours truly.

The post title isn’t as scandalous as it sounds, but it was an awesome lesson I needed.

This is our son’s first semester of college and he is a commuter student. We thought perhaps he’d go on a M-W-F and an online class or two. Turns out he goes every day and has an online class. It’s a 50 minute commute one way and that’s a lot on his car.

We decided since we both work from home most of the time, we’d take turns taking him a couple days a week to ease the wear and tear on his vehicle.

We decided this before my husband’s schedule changed and he’s traveling or needed for conference calls with reliable WiFi. Those driving days are now all me.

My car is one that was completely re designed for 2013. It was a brand my dad was fond of and one of my first cars. But as an adult, I’d bought Subarus to handle the Upstate NY winters. I vowed at the time I’d never leave Subaru.

Until I saw that re- designed other brand.

It has all the bells and whistles. A car that talks to you. Navigation. Sirius. Although most might have that now, even a few years ago that wasn’t the case.

I fell hard.

I broke my Subaru vow and went with the other brand.

The new car had a fire recall not once, but twice within months. The water pump had to be replaced, and that fell under an extended warranty due to re design issues. I started having the engine light come on and it would stop accelerating on the highway. When I looked it up, turned out that’s “a thing” with the re designed model. Although the manufacturer isn’t too interested in hearing about it, drivers noted if you pull over and turn the car off and back on, it goes away. And so it does.

But it has been somewhat of a headache for a mom that does a lot of driving. I often go back to Upstate NY and try to even head to the mountains for story research. I never had to worry about recalls or engine lights before.

And when the engine light came on this week, I went online and started fantasizing.

We can’t afford a different car right now, but my heart wanted to just see how the Subaru is doing. Do they have a moon roof? How about the technology?

Yes. All of that, plus what I gave up when I left them, plus one type has a heated steering wheel.

car-1372181_960_720

A. heated. steering wheel.

Like a cartoon, my mind had me driving down the highway with my former brand, moon roof and music going strong.

And a little nudge that I attribute to the Holy Spirit stopped me cold.

“I want you to stop flirting with your ex.”

What?

“You are bad mouthing a car I provided for you. This is a good vehicle, and you’re talking negative about it. You’re talking bad about a gift I gave you.”

I thought about it. All the times I’ve run my current car down, although the recalls were mostly in the early days. The rare times the engine light comes on, I perform the trick and it goes away. Not everyone has it that good. And here I’ve been, talking trash and looking up how to get my old brand back.

I share this because I think I’m supposed to. Maybe your issue isn’t a car, but I have a feeling someone out there has been talking negative, and it grieves God. He is our Jehovah Jireh, the Lord, Our Provider. And I’ve been taking that provision and cursing it. Not thanking God for the blessing.

Now, when it is time to have a different vehicle, if it is God’s will, I will most likely be back in a Subaru. But now isn’t that time. So I will be thankful for what I have.

I hope you can be, too!

***

Save the Date!

newsletter

Friday, September 23 and Saturday, September 24 BOTH ENTRUSTED and ENTANGLED will be FREE eBooks on Amazon. I plan on starting an online book club and I’d love to get the books into as many hands as I can. The sale typically starts after 3am Eastern, so check the price first.

Please share this with the readers you know. 

Julie Arduini Amazon Page

Thanks!

 

 

 

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flirting with My Ex by Julie Arduini

  1. Judy says:

    I needed this, today. I have a new computer, same brand, but updates have messed with some of the constants I was used to enjoying. You reminded me I needed a new computer, and God provided it. I’m grateful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. juliearduini says:

    I’m so glad, Judy. May God bless continue to bless you and your computer. Thanks for reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

