The Pressure Of Life by Tara Randel

IMG_20160425_183114582

As I changed the calendar to the month of August, I could feel my stomach tighten. I have a lot of projects going on and this month is going to be especially tight. So I told myself not to be overwhelmed, but it didn’t work. When you have the type of personality that doesn’t listen, it’s fruitless to argue with yourself.

When I get overwhelmed, I procrastinate. Not a good thing when on a deadline. I have a book due in a month. A novella due in a few weeks. And I want to go shopping. Or find a place to curl up with a good book. Why? If I put it off, the book isn’t going to get written by itself. Which piles on more stress. A cycle…that with God’s help, I’ve learned to break.

Thanks to my walk with the Lord, I can deal with the stress and emotional roller coaster that goes with deadlines and commitments. In the past, I’d make myself sick worrying and stressing, until I got tired of it. Finally, I got on my knees and said, “Lord, I don’t want this anymore.” Once I did this, a peace came over me and a scripture verse came to mind. “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Joshua 1:5

That has to be one of my favorite verses. That, and “Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

When I took the time to ponder those verses, I began to understand that the pressure I put on myself was never going to get me where I wanted to go. It is only through the peace of God that I can meet my deadlines, focus on my work in progress without worry, and enjoy the labor of a profession I truly love.

All humans have times of stress, worry and doubt. How we manage these emotions is the important thing. I know I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13

I have to believe it. And once these verses are a part of my spirit, I do believe it.

IMG_20160804_084157311

I hope these scriptures help anyone who is experiencing pressure in your life right now. Take a few moments to focus on the Almighty. Take a deep breath. Smell the roses, as they say. And then stand tall, head high, and walk with the assurance that you are not alone. God is by your side.

9780373367931

Tara Randel is an award-winning, USA TODAY bestselling author of twelve novels. She is currently working on new stories for Harlequin Heartwarming, The Business of Weddings series, as well as books in a new series, Amish Inn Mysteries. Visit Tara at www.tararandel.com. Like her on Facebook at Tara Randel Books

This entry was posted in Tara Randel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

