My Way or the Right Way by Mary Alford

"Right Way, Wrong Way" Road Sign with dramatic blue sky and clouds.

My Way or the Right Way

My Way Or The Right Way

By

Mary Alford

 

In John 10:14, Jesus tells us, I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine.

In church today our youth minister talked to the graduating seniors about putting God first in their lives no matter what their future plans may be. He said without God as your shepherd, all your plans can go astray. We all need the Good Shepherd to guide us.

This made me think about my writing career and the choices I made along the way to becoming a published author.

When I first started writing, I was torn between writing Christian fiction or secular, although I knew in my heart of hearts, God was calling me to write Christian fiction.

Still, I wanted to do it my way. After all, I knew what was best for my career, didn’t I?

Don’t get me wrong, I have many Christian author friends who write secular fiction successfully. I think the calling is different for each author. For me, even though all the clear signs were staring me in the face, telling me I was heading the wrong way, I chose to ignore them for the longest time.

I found myself struggling. I think God has a way of making life uncomfortable for us when He’s trying to get us to do His will.

After fighting with Him for way too long, I gave in and started writing Christian romance and Christian suspense. For the first time since I started my career, I felt as if I were doing what I was called to do.

Although it still took a little while before I was offered a contract by Love Inspired Suspense, and I can’t say the road to publication was easy, I can tell you this; I’m more at peace with myself and my choices because I finally let go of the reins and allowed God to lead me.

Now, I can’t imagine doing anything else and I learned a very valuable lesson. I don’t want or need to be my own shepherd.

So, no matter what your career choice is, there’s only room for one shepherd in our lives and He wants what’s best for us. Always. Sometimes it just takes a lot of bad decisions on our part before we finally accept this truth.

 

 

_______________________

MARY ALFORD

MARY ALFORD

Mary Alford was inspired to become a writer after reading romantic suspense greats Victoria Holt and Phyllis Whitney. Soon creating characters and throwing them into dangerous situations that test their faith came naturally for Mary. In 2012 Mary entered the Speed Dating contest hosted by Love Inspired Suspense and later received “the call”. Writing for Love Inspired Suspense has been a dream come true. Now an inspirational romantic suspense author, Mary’s debut title, Forgotten Past, was released by Love Inspired Suspense in June 2014. Mary’s website: www.maryalford.netFacebookTwitterGoodreads

 

About Vicki Hinze

USA Today Bestselling and Award-Winning Author of 40+ books, short stories/novellas and hundreds of articles. Published in as many as 63 countries. Featured Columnist for Social N Worldwide Network and Book Fun Magazine. Sponsor/Founder of ChristiansRead.com & CleanReadBooks.com. FMI visit www.vickihinze.com.
This entry was posted in Mary Alford, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Way or the Right Way by Mary Alford

  1. maryjalford says:

    I’m happy to be here today and to be part of this blog team.

    Like

  2. Ann Ellison says:

    So true. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Vicki says:

    Glad you are here, Mary!

    Like

Leave a Reply

