Scrolls, Books and EReaders by Tara Randel

IMG_20160426_110858032

 

When my daughter and I were at Disney last week, we went to an attraction called Belle’s Enchanted Tales. Being a total Beauty and the Beast fan, I love the story of the brave girl who takes her father’s place in the dark, scary castle and eventually wins the heart of the gruff beast. Yes, I’m a romantic and love a happily ever after, but I think it’s more.

Maybe it’s because I relate it Belle. I love to read. I have all my life. Even today, you can find my nose in a book. My husband can’t understand how I can work on a manuscript all day, then relax by reading a novel before bed. For me, there are too many books, too little time. I have a vast reading interest, everything from romance to mysteries and thrillers, to suspense, historical and young adult novels. My to-read pile never gets small and I always manage to find new authors to add to my fav list.

I see so many kids face down looking at their phones or playing video games and I can’t help but remember those long, sultry summers spent reading books during the school break. Yes, I get it. Times have changed. For the better, I hope. But for me, nothing takes the place of a solid book in my hands.

IMG_20160426_110917206

I guess the ancients might have liked modern civilization if they didn’t have to rely on scrolls for their information. I have to agree, reading a book on a scroll would be tedious. And I will concede that pulling out my phone to pull up a book as I’m waiting in the doctor’s office is easy. I suppose no matter what age we live in, the way we read will change. As long as there are still good books to read, I’m not going to complain.

So whatever mode of reading you use, enjoy the experience. Find a new author. Tell your friends about current authors you already love. Scroll, books or an ereader, it doesn’t matter if you love getting lost in a good book.

9780373367931

Pre-order: Amazon

Tara Randel is an award-winning, USA TODAY bestselling author of eleven novels. She is currently working on new stories for Harlequin Heartwarming, as well as books in a new series, Amish Inn Mysteries. Her next Heartwarming, part of The Business of Weddings series, will be released in June 2016. Visit Tara at www.tararandel.com. Like her on Facebook at Tara Randel Books

This entry was posted in Tara Randel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

