The Arch by Julie Arduini

I’ve mentioned that May is a stressful month. I’m re-releasing ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, and debuting ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. My step-son is getting married out of state, and our son is graduating from high school. There’s college tasks to tend to, end of the year school stuff for both kids, and a lot of issues that need my attention and prayer.

Frankly, I’ve been a mess.

Enough so that I scheduled what I call a spiritual tweak with my pastor and his wife. It’s like going to the chiropractor. Every so often I can tell I need counsel and to be transparent, and this was one of those times. Although I won’t share all my dirty laundry, something huge came from it that I believe might encourage you if you’re feeling overwhelmed.

As I kept talking (and talking and talking,) my pastor’s wife noted I kept using the same phrase. “I’m afraid.”

I’m afraid of failing. I’m afraid of turning into people who wounded me in the past. I’m afraid I’ll fall into temptation. I’m afraid of telling people what I really think. I’m afraid, I’m afraid, I’m afraid.

That fear seized me and I didn’t realize it. Transitioning to an indie author and being an extreme introvert means I’m extra isolated lately. My mind went into overdrive and I wasn’t sharing my thoughts.

My pastor had a great visual to encourage me.

delicate-arch-960279_960_720

The arch is a great visual to focus on when feeling overwhelmed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He told me no matter how many issues I have, if I’m on one side of the arch, and Jesus is on the other, I can stack a ton of stuff on the arch and it will not break.

It. will. not. break.

What a comfort.

Do you have a visual you can go to when you’re overwhelmed? If not, consider the arch!

***

ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present will re-release and ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past will debut this month. I’d love if you would follow me on Amazon and Goodreads, as well as all social media @JulieArduini to be among the first to know when they are ready for purchase.

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Arch by Julie Arduini

  1. Gail Johnson says:

    This article resonated with me, Julie. Indie author. Introvert. So much so I just want to hide some days. Worried about failing. Yep. Worried about making a mistake. Totally. I’m not happy that you are having problems, but it is comforting knowing there is a sister-friend who understands.

    Liked by 1 person

    • juliearduini says:

      Gail, That’s why I do what I do. The surrender process is more than something I use when writing, it’s a lifestyle. I know if I’m meant to share something, it has purpose. And more often than not, I see that my transparency shows others they aren’t alone. Praise God for that. Thank you so much for reading and commenting. It means the world to me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

