The Changing Comfort Zone by Julie Arduini

As I juggle a new business venture that includes releasing two books and prepare for our son’s high school graduation, I realized that over the years there has been so much I was certain I couldn’t do, and yet, God.

Can you relate?

As a new Christian more than twenty years ago, I remember that heavenly nudge to forgive someone. It wasn’t easy, but days after I did, I saw that person and was able to say hello with a smile and mean it. At the time it felt so hard, but Jesus equipped me.

Then I learned I was an infertility patient. The doctor sat me down and explained my chances to conceive were not good at all, but to pray. Trusting Christ through that process seemed bigger than life. He didn’t take us around the fire, but through it. We have two kids.

Writing is also a constant faith journey. Years ago I felt stretched raising my hand and saying yes to creating a newsletter for our local MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) group. Once I started, I loved it. One Sunday the sermon was about putting down your Isaac. I knew for me, God was asking me to step away from that venture so He could take me somewhere new. It sounds easy, but I wrestled with it. Once I obeyed, writing opportunities landed at my feet.

I’m now at a place where my comfort zone feels fluid. It’s changing almost daily, but I’ve learned God can be trusted and my reaction time to His call is certainly faster than those early days where I was so new in my faith. Earlier this year I said yes to His stirring that I start my own business where I make encouraging others to find freedom through surrender my professional life through writing and speaking. That opportunity is now Surrendered Scribe Media.

If that wasn’t enough, then I learned how to create book covers for my Surrendering Time series. I cried over this one. I went a different route and learned how to do this through Word. Negativity was rampant. But for my first effort, I’m pleased, and feedback has been strong.

EntrustedFinalCover2

ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, is a re release coming in May.

EntangledFinal

ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past, is a new release slated for May release.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With the graduation, I’ve had to exercise faith that the principles, prayers and training I poured into our son will produce a lovely harvest. He’s facing new opportunities and temptations at every turn. He’s searching for his faith, not mine, and God’s been more than faithful. As a mom, though, I want to cling to a safe place that I think is my comfort zone. But that safe place is Jesus. I am hanging on His robe through reading and prayer, set on not letting go, no matter where He may go.

Although my reaction time is faster than years ago, it’s still a temptation to stay put when God has something new to grow me. Doing all this reflecting, though, proves how faithful He is. He’s specific in how He cares for us. His timing is perfect. He blesses our obedience.

If you feel your comfort zone changing, don’t fight it. Better things are ahead!

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, NEW RELEASES and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Changing Comfort Zone by Julie Arduini

  1. Gail Johnson says:

    Love this, Julie. I think you did an excellent job on the covers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

