Be Still and Know That I Am God by Tara Randel

Be still and know that I am God. Ps 46:10

20140222_162352

More than once in my life have I had to listen to this admonition from the Lord. Life gets busy. Family keeps us hopping. Yet our time spent with God should be what we cherish, and strive for, the most.

When my children where young, I poured hours of my life into them. It was exactly where I wanted to be. God had blessed me with two beautiful daughters and I loved being their Mom. But as anyone who is currently or has raised kids, it consumes you. I made sure to make date nights with my husband to keep our relationship in focus. And thankfully, I understood I had to do the same with God.

God  longs for the time we spend with Him. Just as we might sit around the dinner table and discuss the day’s events with our family, I believe God wants the same thing. Now that my children are gone, I have been blessed to have a career writing books. There are many long, solitary hours spent in this pursuit. But I can never forget that it is God who has given me this opportunity, and I will never take it for granted. And in gratitude, I will always find time to spend with the Lord.

He has done the same for you, whatever your walk in life is.  Let me encourage you to set aside time spent with the King. We only ever benefit from that quiet time with the Lord. There is peace, wisdom, hope and security in knowing the Lord. I hope this psalm lifts you up today.

Psalm 46

For the director of music. Of the Sons of Korah.

God is our refuge and strength,
an ever-present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
and the mountains quake with their surging.

There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
the holy place where the Most High dwells.
God is within her, she will not fall;
God will help her at break of day.
Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

The Lord Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Come and see what the Lord has done,
the desolations he has brought on the earth.
He makes wars cease
to the ends of the earth.
He breaks the bow and shatters the spear;
he burns the shields with fire.
10 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

11 The Lord Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Tara Randel is an award-winning, USA TODAY bestselling author of eleven novels. She is currently working on new stories for Harlequin Heartwarming, as well as books in a new series, Amish Inn Mysteries. Her next Heartwarming, part of The Business of Weddings series, will be released in June 2016. Visit Tara at www.tararandel.com. Like her on Facebook at Tara Randel Books

 

This entry was posted in Tara Randel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

