The Presidential Election Will be Won By…By Julie Arduini

You’re leaning in, aren’t you? You want to know what name I’m going to type to reveal the winning candidate for this year’s election.

Well, I don’t know.

But I do believe with all my heart this:

The election will be won by intercession.

banner-949932_960_720

We need to be on our knees for this election./pixabay image

Over the weekend I watched my Facebook feed take a depressing turn when South Carolina residents realized the winner of their primary was Donald Trump. The updates I saw were along the lines of “I’ve lost hope” and “I give up.”

 

That concerns me. One of the greatest works Christ has done in my life is turn me from a very negative thinker and talker to an encourager. I don’t just believe in God, I believe God. In the years that I’ve chosen to believe Him, He’s given me strategies to use in prayer and as I stand in the gap for others.

I think the “be on your knees” strategy for this election comes from heaven. Even if I’m wrong, what harm is there in praying for the election? Our country needs prayers from God’s kids.

This was what I shared earlier this week as my update:

I challenge you, if you don’t like the current state of politics, or where you think it is headed, or even if you are content, to pray. I completely believe that the presidential election will be won through intercession.

And if you aren’t sure prayer changes things—I’m someone that was told I most likely couldn’t have children.

I have two.

We were told by professionals that our baby would never grow in intellect if she even survived her first year.

She’s in the 6th grade in regular class.

I fought for those things with prayer and time where I was so overwhelmed by tears that I believe they became prayers only God could understand.

So, I’m throwing down the challenge. I don’t want to debate or argue. I’m just a normal wife and mom that believes this election is historic. It isn’t about fancy words you wouldn’t use when talking to your friends, nor is it bragging about being in a quiet place for hours on end. He knows your heart. My best prayer times were folding laundry, driving, or when I was up in the middle of the night. God’s not a far away meanie anymore than Jesus is uncaring to what’s near and dear to you. You are talking to the One who created you, and Jesus is a friend. I talk to Him as I would my friends at Panera.

I didn’t give up when man and numbers told me things weren’t going to change. Neither should you. 🙂

I’m not a Bible master, but I know enough that God can change things in a blink of an eye. I know Ananias and Sapphira met with a pretty quick demise after their deceit. Nebuchadnezzar in Daniel 4:33 immediately lived out fulfillment of what was proclaimed over him. He went from palace to the field just like that.

Am I calling for anyone’s destruction or harm? I’m not. But I am saying this isn’t time to give up hope. I believe with all my heart God can change destinies in an instant. We could be watching the 6 o’clock news one night that has the election all but decided, and by 11, it could all change.

But there’s a responsibility we have.

Don’t give up.

Do keep praying.

And believe God no matter what the headline reads.

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

