Prayer For the New Year by Tara Randel

So here we are, just a few weeks into the new year. Is it just me, or is everyone as behind as I am? I’ve had to deal with the telephone company for multiple days now, which is never a joy. I haven’t been to the gym in a week because, it’s Florida and the low 40’s is just way to cold to go out in the morning.

On the positive side, I met two deadlines and continue to work on a project due in March. So I shouldn’t complain.

That’s right. I shouldn’t complain.

In fact, with everything I have going on, I’m looking forward to this weekend. Our church is holding a seminar on strategic prayer. Ever since the movie, War Room, came out, there have been plenty of books and conversations about prayer. Which is fine, because I don’t think we can ever learn enough or focus enough on reaching out to our God.

Lots of people come up with resolutions for the new year. Or even a word of affirmation to kick start the brand new season. I actually like the idea of one word to focus on. Prayer is a mighty, powerful word, and when used correctly, can change the atmosphere around us.

Will you join me and let your word this year be prayer?

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

How many of us have been down on our knees, talking to God? Expecting answers to our intercession? Hoping to see lives changed or friends healed?

The answer should be, every single one of us.

For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name. I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.
Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever! Amen. Eph 3:14-21

I count it as an honor to have prayer warriors in my life, friends I can call at any time and know that they will get busy with the business at hand immediately. In return, they can depend on me to pray when asked. It’s a two way street I’m proud to be a part of.

And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. Eph 6:18

If you feel as though your prayer life has been lacking, now is the time to get serious. Yes, prayer is a priority. Yes, it can hurt and it can make you cry, but it can also bring great joy. Yes, we can begin anew, if needed, to walk in a deeper relationship with Jesus.

Jesus made time to talk to the Father daily. Shouldn’t we follow his example?

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed. Mark 1:35

So if you have no idea of how to begin this new year in a positive way, I encourage you to start on your knees. You will not be disappointed.

I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength. Eph 1:18-19

This entry was posted in Tara Randel, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

