When Writers Watch Movies and TV by Julie Arduini

Last week Maureen wrote a great post about It’s a Wonderful Life and questioning what happened to Potter and the $8,000? I remember watching The Sound of Music and of all the things I could have said, I only had one question.

What happened with Rolf?

I couldn’t even talk about the music, the setting, the family, nothing but Rolf. Did he stay with the Nazi cause? Did he live? Did he have regrets?

I wish I could tell you this is a one time thing, but as I meet with readers and hear from loved ones, I guess writers are in a league of their own when it comes to watching movies. We do things most wouldn’t even consider.

My latest?

I read the spoilers to the new Star Wars movie.

Was it because I’m such a die hard fan I had to know?

Nope. Although I enjoy the franchise, I wanted to know if my plot theories were close to what the writers actually created onscreen.

I’m hard to keep quiet during movies because I want to tell you the plot as I think it’s going to be, before it happens, and then after the movie, be prepared as I’ll probably want to take time to discuss what I would have done differently. I can’t help it. I’ve always been this way.

I’m the same with TV shows. As an 80’s teen that watched Full House as part of ABC’s TGIF lineup, I saw the shows again with our firstborn, and then  our daughter, years later, was obsessed with the show. As I watched and watched and watched episodes with them, I started to plot out what I would do to reboot the series.

It’s crazy that the show actually is coming back as a reboot, but alas, none of my ideas seem to be making it to Fuller House. I would have re written DJ married to a soldier deployed overseas, and that would have prompted Kimmy and Stephanie to live with DJ and kids. In Fuller House, it looks like they are keeping things inline with the original as DJ will be widowed.

I know I’ll be watching and guessing the plot from there, and making my own verbal tweaks to it.

I’ve learned not everyone loves to have plot points blurted during a movie or TV show so I’ve had to adjust my timing when vocalizing my thoughts, but I can’t help it.

And I still want to know what happened to Rolf.

 

Happy New Year! May you experience His peace throughout 2016!

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Writers Watch Movies and TV by Julie Arduini

  1. Well, Rolf is your story to tell! I’m exactly the same way with movies and shows. My husband thinks I’m clairvoyant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

