Here Comes Santa Claus

NBC_cover_large

Scott Gustafson

Over Thanksgiving, I finally discovered Pandora. I enjoyed listening to oldies but goodies. At first I listened to Christmas themed songs, but my son complained that he wanted Thanksgiving songs for Thanksgiving.

We could listen to Christmas songs starting the day after.

So be it.

I love that I can listen to Christmas oldies but goodies sung by Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby and Andy Williams. (I can also put on the Italian dinner music when we’re eating spaghetti but that’s for another post.)

Here’s the interesting thing. . .I didn’t realize these old Christmas songs about Santa Claus also contained references to God. Maybe as a child growing up in a nation that considered itself a Christian nation, I took those things for granted. Things like I could take my children to Target without them hearing some inappropriate music playing in the background or customers using the F-bomb like there’s no tomorrow without any regard for those around them. But back to what this post is really about.

That “Santa Claus knows we’re all God’s Children. . .”

And. . .

“Peace on earth will come to all

If we just follow the light

So lets give thanks to the lord above

That Santa Claus comes tonight!”

(Lyrics from http://www.41051.com/xmaslyrics/herecomes.html)

My children are teenagers and in their twenties now, but I always told them the truth about Santa Claus—who the real St. Nicholas was and how the story of the man in the red suit came about. The funny thing is that my children didn’t believe me even when I told them the truth and for a while thought Santa Claus was real until they were old enough to know better.

We had some fun with the tradition while still remembering that “Jesus is the Reason for the Season.” There has never been any other reason for Christmas but Jesus, and even the old Christmas songs about Santa Claus acknowledge this truth.

I never realized this before. How about you? Did you ever notice the references to God in the old Santa Claus Christmas songs? Do you have Santa fun at your house or have you chosen to leave Santa out of it?

Wishing you a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

Elizabeth Goddard

If you’d like to receive book news and updates, sign up for my newsletter, Great Escapes, over at my website: http://elizabethgoddard.com

MOUNTAIN COVE: In the Alaskan wilderness, love and danger collide

Books

Elizabeth Goddard is the bestselling, award-winning author of twenty-five romance novels and counting. A 7th generation Texan, Elizabeth graduated with a B.S. degree in computer science and worked in high-level software sales for several years before retiring to home school her children and fulfill her dream of becoming an author. She currently lives in Minnesota and serves with her husband in ministry.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here Comes Santa Claus

  1. juliearduini says:

    I love all those artists and their Christmas renditions, too. I realized the Christian references as a child, without ever celebrating the reason for the season. Interesting!

    Like

  2. bethrachg says:

    I might have realized as a child too and just never thought about it until now, when God is being removed from everything, it seems! Merry Christmas, Julie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

