A Taste for a Classic

I recently finished reading a book by Daphne Du Maurier, who was one of my favorite authors while I was growing up. In my adolescent years I went through a definite “dark” phase where anything classically gothic appealed to me—with dark, brooding heroes and the innocent yet courageous heroines. I often go back to such classics just to remind myself of how words can fascinate me, how they can be gathered together to paint a picture so vivid in my mind it seems more real, at various moments, than the one I’m actually living in.

Creating such a world is the goal of every writer, from the old time classics to the current day fast-reads. But as I turned the pages of this old genre, I couldn’t help noticing how things have changed in the many decades since Ms. Du Maurier was writing. Mood-setting was slower then, none of this instant-action that, for me at least, was popularized by the first Indiana Jones movie. While I loved those movies, I admit I still enjoy a slower pace now and then. Maybe I’m just getting old!

There are more books than ever to choose from these days, a fact that can discourage writers (how will my book ever get noticed?) but thrills most readers—even if we do have to spend more time looking. There is certainly a book for every taste and mood, the fast-paced contemporaries to the books written in the days when our leisure activities consisted of far fewer choices.

So my thought for the day: give a classic a chance! Let the world around you slow down just a little, and imagine yourself in a time where there weren’t all the pressing instant-gratifications of technology. It may not be a place anyone today wants to live in for long, but when time slows down it can be very refreshing. Try it, you might like it!

About Maureen Lang

Author of a dozen novels, Maureen Lang has won the Selah Award, a Holt Medallion, FHL's Reader's Choice Award, and been a finalist in such contests as the Christy, the Rita, the Carol, Book Buyer's Best, and others. Before publication she was the recipient of a Golden Heart and a Genesis (then called the Noble Theme). She resides with her husband and kids in the Chicago area. Titles by Maureen Lang All In Good Time Bees In The Butterfly Garden Springtime Of The Spirit Whisper On The Wind Look To The East My Sister Dilly On Sparrow Hill The Oak Leaves Remember Me Pieces Of Silver
This entry was posted in Maureen Lang and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

