One Path to Success by Hannah Alexander

I once had a third grade teacher who always told us to smile with our eyes, which never quite made sense to me. How does one smile with one’s eyes? Doesn’t the mouth have something to do with it? Not real helpful for an eight-year-old.

I think she was simply trying to confuse us so we’d shut up when we got a little wild in class. But she taught me more than how to crinkle up my eyes when I smiled. She taught me to smile at others in the hallway, in class, in the cafeteria. She taught me to put my best face forward to anyone I meet. For some reason, her attitude taught me to expect the best of others even if they weren’t smiling back, and that long-ago lesson has held me in good stead.

Now, I’m not saying I’m the most successful person in the world. The way the writing world is changing, I might be forgotten soon. But when I greet people with a friendly smile, they have fonder memories of me than they do of the bitter complainers who find fault with every kind service they might receive.

It was surprising for me to hear that I’m always the one who encourages (really? Me? I’m the whiner) and lend strength to friends when they’re in need. A smile will go a long way for those around you. Try smiling more often. And do it with your eyes, too. You know, those little crinkles that form around our eyes when our smile is genuine. I’ve always thought those lines were so attractive. Now I know why. It means warmth and acceptance. If you haven’t gone through your day with a smile, you might find that you end your day on a sour note. A smile costs nothing, and it can be healthy, not only for the smiler, but the person who receives that smile.

Touch a heart or two today and smile. It’s contagious.

 

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Path to Success by Hannah Alexander

  1. Cheri60 says:

    Not long ago, I was talking to my 12 year old granddaughter about this very thing. She had asked me why I said hi or talked to someone I didn’t know (we were in the nursing home before my mom died).

    I told her many of those we saw never had any visitors and might not have had anyone smile at them all day. She really thought about it and later asked if we could visit some people who had no visitors. Bless her heart, she’s a deep thinker!

    I’ve told her when she smiles at me, her eyes sparkle! She asked me if other people’s eyes sparkled when they smiled at me and I told her not all~~ 🙂 I do feel it’s important to be friendly to others and not just walk past and ignore someone. I guess at times I might be too friendly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

