Something Ventured…by Kristen Heitzmann

Every new endeavor comes with some level of stress, it seems. While exciting, Indie Publishing has tipped my stress meter into the red. Told You So has had its professional edits and is awaiting one final proofread, then on to formatting by an expert to make all the inside elements work on all the devices and have it looking good for print. I’m really happy with the story. I can’t wait for it to be in readers’ hands. I was hoping that would be this month. Alas, it’s not to be.

Through a series of events, I’m scrambling on the most important element, second to writing the best story I can write–the cover. Let me show you this very rough, beginning stage mock-up and ask for your feedback. Every thought and impression is invaluable. Don’t hold back. Does it appeal? Strengths, weaknesses?

It is the first in a series, followed by Told You Twice (I’m having too much fun writing this one) and Told You No. Each would have a hand gesture representing the title and theme. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts!

alternate TYS title

This entry was posted in Honored Alumni, Kristen Heitzmann, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Something Ventured…by Kristen Heitzmann

  1. Love! Can’t wait to read!

    Like

  2. Marylin Furumasu says:

    I’ll read whatever you write! Guess I’ll have to be patient!

    Like

  3. Vicki Hinze says:

    Email coming. 🙂 Love the hand gestures idea!

    Like

  4. Jo Evans says:

    The fur coat raised my conscientiousness somehow and I really didn’t like her nails. I did like the hand gesture and his coat.

    Like

  5. Elizabeth Newsom says:

    I absolutely love the titles you have for the series and I know from the excerpts you read in your CE that it’s going to be an awesome story 🙂 The hand gestures as a theme is a great idea. The problem with the book cover is that it doesn’t make me ask questions. Maybe you could chose one focal point for the cover, an area that could really ‘pop’ in contrast with the background? That seems to be popular for book covers. Something else I’ve seen is a little blurb or review. The cover won’t factor into my purchase, since I’m already sold 😉 Can’t wait to read it!

    Like

  6. Melodie says:

    I love the Tiffany blue script! The scarf is a bit too busy. I think a white scarf would be pretty and symbolic. The hand gesture is great, the manicure is not. I am anxiously awaiting your new best seller!

    Like

  7. kim says:

    Congrats on the indie project. I’m excited to read your next. About the cover, it read kind of 1980s/Lifetime movie. I don’t know if it is the fur or the colors or both. The finger idea is inspired, but I think it needs more focus and to feel more updated. If I didn’t already know you, this cover would make me pass by on the shelf. You are so wise to field test it. I know you will find the perfect fit. Go you!

    Like

  8. bethrachg says:

    Perfect cover!

    Like

  9. jo says:

    I love your books, so I’d read it even if there was no cover at all 😉 🙂 But that said, as a reader, I understand the importance of covers, and I definitely do ‘judge a book by its cover’ when I don’t know the author’s work yet and am considering a read… I like covers that really tie in and relate to the words inside. I tend to like a little mysterious element to the cover as well. I’m also one of those people that will often flip back to the cover to get a better feel for the characters. Personally, I like covers that are timeless, meaning that whatever the person is wearing can’t be dated back to a specific time (i.e. the ’90s, 80’s, etc.) Unless the book is supposed to take place in that period and supposed to have that look.
    I also tend to like book covers that show the main character’s face, or at least some of their face (side view, looking down, etc.).
    So there are a few of my general book cover preferences.. I didn’t want to give direct opinions on this cover in general, because everyone is going to have a different one.
    Hope this helps, and if it doesn’t, ignore it! 😉 Can’t wait to read your new series, and as soon as you tell us it’s ready, I’ll be purchasing!

    Like

  10. You’re doing great, Kristen! Love the finger pointing gesture that’ll be carried throughout the series. Not crazy about the title’s font for some reason. Can’t put my finger on it, exactly (sorry, couldn’t resist 🙂

    Like

  11. Kay W. says:

    I like the idea and posture of the cover. The fur thing shows a bit of a fun and eccentric “goings on.” I like that and it suits the story (though I have to assume it’s fake fur or PETA might be concerned, 😉 It diffidently says “Chick” reading.

    My first reaction was that, though I like the fur, it seems to overtake the cover. I get that the female is the prominent figure here who is saying “I told you so” But from the view point of a buyer, I’d like to see a bit more of the male personality on the cover. Maybe a front suit pocket with an handkerchief sticking out or a leather jacket OR at least a little less fur.

    Looking again, it’s not too much fur until it is the background for your name.I don’t know why that bothers me but it’s not that big of a deal. Just giving my first, unadulterated thoughts.

    Like

  12. Kay W. says:

    I just read other folks comments. I don’t know how you will ever decide with such diverse opinions! But I’m already in line to buy several. K

    Like

  13. courtney207 says:

    I’m going to echo what Kim W. said about the fur– it seems a little overpowering. It kind of takes away from the fact that it’s a woman standing there and makes it look like a wall of fur! 🙂 Maybe a smaller fur collar with feminine attire for the girl would be better? Those are just my thoughts!

    I do like the title font and color! A little extra color in the background would maybe make the whole cover pop more.

    I can’t wait to read it!

    Like

  14. 1bl0gr3ad3r says:

    Hi Kristen– the colors & overall layout are appealing, but the manicure (i don’t wear fur or polish) is offputting in that the fur implies fancier? more refined? Maybe if the nails were a bit longer, shaped, and as one commenter suggested, a deep red? Too, maybe a different type of fur? More like mink- chinchilla- but not “big cat” patterned? I do like the gesture against the male’s coat and look forward to the others as they are developed! With your name on the cover, it could be cardboard brown or old porch gray & i would want it 🙂 Fun letting us comment – thanks- karen w

    Like

  15. Rebecca D says:

    I like the cover, but as for suggestions…I agree that the nails would look nicer longer or shaped, seeing how the hand is the focal point. Also the fur might stand out better against a different color.
    Great job, I’m super excited to read Told you so. By the way, great title!

    Like

  16. I am very late to the conversation. I just saw this post on your Twitter page, and I agree with what most have already said. I like the font choices and colors. I like the finger pointing. I don’t love the scarf, but I like the idea of the scarf, so maybe if it were thinner–not so overpowering–maybe if we saw more of her arm?

    And as others have said, and as you know, I will buy your book regardless of the cover! 🙂 I can’t wait!

    Like

    • Thanks Laura. From this feedback, I have created a new cover that will be revealed soon on my website and Facebook. Pretty close to what you’re saying. We took the photos last Sunday and got a winner I think!

      Like

Leave a Reply

