Stressed Much? by Hannah Alexander

How’s your stress level? I recently listened in on an anxiety symposium that was quite helpful. In it, some experts in the use of alternative supplements suggested several possible aids that could help with a person’s stress level without resorting to prescription medications. For instance, GABA or GABA Calm might help some people, while 5-HTP could help others. I’ve found that L Tryptophan and simple chamomile can help me. Holy basil is another favorite. I also take magnesium supplements to help me relax at night, but we’re all different. No body responds to the same supplements, so it’s sort of a trial and error approach.

I’ve also found that some essential oils can help with stress, and we even use one of those oils in the clinic, allowing the patient to inhale the oil for ten minutes if they happen to have white coat syndrome. Again, this could help some and not others, but we’ve found that simply allowing a patient to sit quietly and breathe a calming essential oil will lower the blood pressure if the problem is due to stress.

The most powerful antidote to anxiety, fear, stress, even depression, is turning back to Christ. I tend to drift away from reading my Bible every day, and I shoot up instaprayers during the day without actually digging deeply and spending quality time with Him. I can spend all day doing what I know God has called me to do, but all work and no love shared with Him? That doesn’t cut it for me. I need that Holy Presence in my daily life to sustain me. I need to depend completely on Him, and not my own strength.

One way I’ve always drawn closer to God was to go out into the wilderness for a hike, to surround myself by His creation and talk to Him in the peace of nature. I seldom fail to come back with a full heart. Even a quick stroll in the sunshine can give me a spiritual lift.

In the past few weeks, hubby and I have both been ill. That’s scary when neither of us can get out of bed to care for the other. We realized right away we needed to draw back to God more completely, that we’d been doing what we thought was right, but not spending quality time with the One for whom we were doing it.

It’s a longterm goal, to walk more closely with Jesus Christ, but it’s also instantaneous. I found that as soon as I turned back and repented of my independence, He was there. How does He do that? It has to be supernatural, because anyone at any time can turn to Him, repent, find His love and learn to walk with Him.

“Be anxious about nothing, but in everything make your requests known to God, with prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, and the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

 

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stressed Much? by Hannah Alexander

  1. Very timely, my friend. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

