Prayer – a parent and child relationship by Camy Tang

At church, our pastor is starting a series on the Lord’s Prayer, and he started with an overview of prayer. Something that really struck me was the reasoning behind the five different parts of the Lord’s Prayer – Adoration, Submission, Petition, Confession, Protection.

Our pastor gave an example of how sometimes when teenagers are off to college, they only call home when they need money. (Yes, I was guilty of that, too!) After a while, that gets irritating to the parents since their kid only thinks of them as a bank.

But when we only pray petition type prayers to God, that’s kind of the same thing. We’re only ever asking Him for stuff. I had never realized the parallels between my prayers and how I used to only ask my parents for things.

A solid parent-child relationship is built on more than just provision. There is love, humility, forgiveness, and protection on both sides, from parents and children.

I want a solid relationship with God, and so my prayers should reflect that. So hopefully this week I’ll work on developing more of a relationship with God in my prayer life.

marblecross_bderksen_pickmonkeyblueRelated to that, how can I pray for you? I created a form for you to fill out your prayer requests to protect your privacy. Please let me know how I can pray for you!

About Camy Tang/Camille Elliot

Camy writes romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com and http://www.camilleelliot.com to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.
This entry was posted in Camy Tang, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

