INDIE TIME by Kristen Heitzmann

I’m excited to say I’ll be independently publishing my upcoming novel, TOLD YOU SO. I’m blessed to work the past seventeen years with top-notch publishers, but this seems the right avenue for this time and this series–yes, I’m now writing TOLD YOU TWICE. Being able to do these stories this way is exhilarating. But I’d like your input.

Here’s a peek at the first of the TOLD YOU Series:

Grace Evangeline knows her newest romance novel should be playing live on Broadway and will stop at nothing to convince playwright-producer Devin Bressard. Yes, it might involve a little stalking and infiltrating the people in his life to prove her plots are not contrived, her characters not cartoons. People all over the world love her novels–and her. So why should this man matter?

Devin Bressard likes his full and meaningful life. As “a voice for the times,” his productions strike nerves and win awards. Grace Evangeline’s request is laughable—until he starts glimpsing her in his East Village neighborhood. Forced to work together, he learns she’s trouble in more ways than one—a calamity vortex. Who could know the spokesperson for strength and virtue would ignite his carefully contained heart in a conflagration that touches more lives than their own?

That’s the bare bones gist of it. Now it’s time for book covers. For this romantic comedy series set in NYC, what might appeal to you?

A. artistic, i.e. watercolor wash, zany illustration, or other cool treatments

B. sharply photographic

C. feature faces

D. closeups of clothing, hands, etc. without faces

E. incorporate setting in a composite

F. Simple / plain with text

Feel free to vote or offer any thoughts you have about covers. I value your feedback!

This entry was posted in Honored Alumni, Kristen Heitzmann, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to INDIE TIME by Kristen Heitzmann

  1. Rebecca maney says:

    Since it’s a romantic comedy, a more whimsical cover with bright colors, a faint skyline and maybe the backs of the two characters rather than a facial. I kind of like to imagine what characters look like based on the author’s description.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Maureen Lang says:

    Welcome to the Indie world! Your book sounds like a lot of fun. My vote for the cover would be photographic, only because that seems to be the industry standard these days. So I’m not sure if this is choice B or E because it would probably include a composite of the setting, if only in the background. Since your book sounds like humor will play a big part, the zany illustration element could work, but illustrated copies are tricky to make look contemporary (especially within the romance market). Is your book concentrated more on humor or romance?

    Either way, I agree that the bright colors and whimsical look will tip off the humor aspect. 🙂

    The only type I’d rule out would be the last one, simple/plain text. That might work for classics that everyone is familiar with, but it gives so little information about the story inside that I don’t think it would work for something new.

    The good news about Indie publishing is that you can always change the cover in the future if you want to experiment!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tararandel says:

    I like the artistic theme. It seems to go better with the romantic comedy. Best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. relmollet says:

    Can’t wait, Kristen! I’m always a fan of photographic covers, no faces – something contemporary and fresh – easy peasy, right?! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I always like having a scenery in there. Not a big fan of people on the covers but I do like the above suggestion of having their back to us if you do incorporate a person/people. Whimsical would work. Nothing too dark but not too bright either. So far I’ve liked all of the covers to your books. Welcome to the Indie world! 🙂

    Like

  6. dixiegran says:

    I like for covers to hint at the content of the book, perhaps tell a story within itself. I look first at the cover, turn it over and read the description on the back. I am disappointed at some of the covers that are out there, like a child drew it with crayons. This does not appeal nor match the book’s content. I would go for B C and/or D or a composite of them.

    Like

  7. Erica says:

    Thanks for the summation of your story and I would have to go with letter “D” because of what I would like to see for a story with that type of theme. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. MaryLouise says:

    I think you should pick a couple of your favorite scenes, set them up and take photographs then create a collage. so that you end up with a snapshot of a couple of funny moments between the main characters.

    Like

  9. Jen says:

    I’m so excited that you’re doing another series! I like D or E. Like another comment suggested, I prefer not to see faces on the cover. One thing to consider is using classic clothing, hairstyles, etc. if you have people on the cover instead of something trendy that will be out of date in a few years.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Congratulations on heading out into uncharted territory! Sounds like this is going to be an exciting new adventure for you and your readers (old and new). I’m partial to photography but probably because you said NYC :-).

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Rachel Holliday says:

    I like the idea of “A” or “E” above. Just curious…what about “Indomitable”? Is it still in the works?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. MG says:

    I prefer not to have faces on the front cover. If the author has done her/his job well then I can “picture” them myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. chautona says:

    Have you considered a “set” wash over a plywood type thing with the title written on it and the author somewhere on the cover? Perhaps with the paintbrush in one hand and a skeptical looking man on the other side?

    Like

  14. chautona says:

    “On the cover” OY! I meant to write, “On one side” Sorry

    Like

  15. LOL. Sounds intriguing. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

