Faith and Writing by Tara Randel

Lately I have been hunkered down at my computer, typing away as I create stories that are under contract. I love to spend my day writing, love the unexpected scenes that pop into my head when my characters take over. Writing is never dull, that’s for sure.

Each time I start a new book, I’m filled with expectation. Although I plot before I ever type the opening sentence, I wonder, where will this story go? What crazy side paths will I wander down? How long will it take me to complete this journey? Questions plague me as I write the entire book, yet I don’t shy away from the answers. In writing, answers are good.

Unlike, life, where we don’t always get answers. While I can control the circumstances surrounding my characters, I can’t do this in my everyday life. Maybe that’s why being an author appeals to me. Not that I’m a control freak, but in the uncertain world we live in, who wouldn’t mind knowing just where they’re headed?

Enter God.

I’ve served God a long time. I have faith, that no matter what life throws my way, He has His hand upon me. Through good times and bad, I know He is there.

Faith is a funny thing. You can’t see it, can’t touch it. Yet it exists.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.
Hebrews 11:1

For we live by faith, not by sight. 2 Corinthians 5:7

How do we believe in something we can’t see? Good question. Because God is faithful to us. He is the example.
God’s word is full of the many ways He allows us to have faith.

Know therefore that the Lord your God is God; he is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commandments. Deuteronomy 7:9

To the faithful you show yourself faithful, to the blameless you show yourself blameless
Psalm 18:25

Some men brought to him a paralyzed man, lying on a mat. When Jesus saw their faith, he said to the man, “Take heart, son; your sins are forgiven.” Matthew 9:2

For in the gospel the righteousness of God is revealed—a righteousness that is by faith from first to last, just as it is written: “The righteous will live by faith.”
Romans 1:17

Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be courageous; be strong. 1 Corinthians 16:13

I could go on, list many other passages of Scripture, but this next verse seems to boil down to our heart.

Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word about Christ.
Romans 10:178

Are we willing to hear the message? And if you do, will you believe in faith?

Just as when I begin a new book, I start with a blank page and can’t see the entire story until I begin to write, I have to be active. I have to put words on the page. Let my imagination flow. The same happens with our walk with God. We take that first step and faith begins to grow. I type the words and my story progresses. I believe in God and my faith expands.

Some may take exception to me comparing faith with starting a book, but believe me, I have lots of faith that I will complete my story. Just as i have faith that one day I will stand in the presence of God.

I encourage you, no matter where you are in your walk with God, to pursue Him. Seek Him daily. Focus on faith, no matter what trials you my face. You will face them, so allow faith to keep you grounded.

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness. Colossians 2: 6-7

This entry was posted in Tara Randel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

