Oldies But Goodies

We love movies at my house and why not, I’m a storyteller and my children have the bug too. Have you ventured into the movie theaters lately or watched at home some of the recent “Bible” movies such as Noah or Exodus? I was excited to see more Biblical movies made and hoped for inspiration such as I saw in The Prince of Egypt animated film, which was filled with an inspiring script and music to stir my spirit.

Unfortunately, I can’t say the same for these recent Hollywood films. I was okay with Noah (even the angels turned into rock people) until that last act and I could hardly stomach watching Noah trying to kill his grandchildren in what he thought was obedience to God.

But then we rented Exodus with Christian Bale. Rare is the movie that I can’t watch to it’s conclusion, but the director took artistic license to an entirely new level with his re-imagining of Moses and the Exodus story. I would have been okay with watching it if there had been any sense of anointing. Something that I could see God in–but this movie not only lacked inspiration, it was downright debasing, in my opinion. You might have seen it and loved it. I could no longer stomach it and went to my room to watch something else. Eventually my husband followed. He didn’t finish it either.

And what did the kiddoes have to say about it? “Mom, can we watch The Prince of Egypt to get the Exodus movie out of our heads?” Now that is saying something.

So not only did we watch The Prince of Egypt, and cried with the music (me, mostly) but we ordered the TWO DVD’s of The Ten Commandments (Charleston Heston) on Netflix. I used to own the anniversary special edition, or whatever it’s called, on VHS, but alas, I no longer have the VHS player or tapes. The kids did not watch The Ten Commandments years ago when I put it on. They were too young to remember anyway. I’m thinking we should start watching it again once a year on Easter, like I did growing up when it was on TV–back before we could watch anything, anywhere, anytime.

It took us two evenings to watch the movie, and even though it was made in the 1950’s and has obvious inaccuracies to the true story, it still inspires. We chuckled over the Hebrews’ use of King James English, but all agreed that the scene of the Red Sea parting is by far the most moving, and the best in terms of drama and inspiration, compared to other movies tackling the same event. I also enjoyed the beginning where filmmaker Cecil B DeMille stepped from behind the curtains to introduce the movie, explaining the texts they used to research in creating Moses’s missing years.

And in his voice, I heard an awe and reverence for God. I heard “the fear of the Lord.”

It saddens me that we seem to have lost that and hence, we must return to the oldies, but goodies, to find it in movies made by God-fearing directors.

How about you? What oldies but goodies have you watched lately? What Biblical movies have you enjoyed?

Blessings!

Elizabeth Goddard

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

