Do Not Worry, Part 2: Eagles

On my last post, DO NOT WORRY,  I shared that when I wake up in the morning I dread the day, and that I’ve made a conscious effort and have chosen to celebrate the day, and give God the glory. I’m happy to report that my days have improved as long as I choose to “think on these things,” and have a grateful heart. That, instead of letting all the burdens of life weigh me down.

 

I’m a pastor’s wife, writer and home schooling three boys, which means I simply have too much to do. But isn’t it that way for most modern women? We want to do it all. Everyone expects us to do it all, or at least try. So I have my fingers in too many pies and I’m trying to eat them all. No wonder I’m overweight! Sorry for the bad joke. I’m leaving it in the post though to keep things transparent. Ha!

 

Today I’m taking my previous post deeper. I had a dream the other night. In the dream, there were eagles everywhere on the walls. Carvings and paintings and mosaics, you name it. I thought nothing more about the dream or the eagles until the next day when I saw a bald eagle on Facebook then the dream came rushing back at me in full detail. Has that ever happened to you?

 

Eagle

Bald Eagle soaring high above the Mississippi River

And I knew there was something about those eagles.

 

I tromped down the stairs to the office and booted up the old clunker desktop. This detail is important because on the way down the steps, I started humming that old song, “They that wait upon the Lord. . .” You know the one. It’s basically the Bible verse about eagles.

 

 

But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. Isaiah 40:31 

 

 

Over the years, I’ve heard many teachings about this verse, but decided to do some research on my own as a reminder and possibly  find a new truth or a new spiritual nugget.  I read about how eagles have heavy wings and how they patiently wait for the thermal that they can ride so they can conserve their energy, and soar even higher.

 

They don’t have to use their own energy.  They simply spread their wings and ride the wind.

 

And I realized, that’s what God wants from me—to wait for that thermal. To wait for Him so I, too, can spread my wings and ride the thermal. So I can soar even higher than  is possible on my own.

 

I’ve taken on so much, in fact, more than He ever would have wanted from me. It’s all in my own power and strength, and not in His power and strength. Sure, we have to work hard, but there is a better way that doesn’t require striving.

 

I admit, I’m still trying to let go of the burdens, and I’m still trying to figure out how to “wait” on Him, but the realization that there is a better way. . .well, that has already shifted much of the burden from my shoulders.

 

Now, I’m going to wait on that thermal. Join me?

________________________________________________________________________

goddard-LR-new-4 (2) blackandwhitebackfire coverElizabeth Goddard is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than twenty romance and romantic suspense novels and counting. To find out more, visit her website at http://elizabethgoddard.com

COMING SOON: Backfire, (Mountain Cove book 3) Fleeing Alaska and cutting all ties could be the only way to survive…but it would mean leaving her heart behind.

 

 

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do Not Worry, Part 2: Eagles

  1. Cindy Lawrence says:

    i really enjoyed this post. It is a good reminder to give Him the burdens and be renewed in Him. I’ll join you in waiting on the thermal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

