A little help from your friends . . .

My youngest son just started his first job this week. While it’s exciting to see this first step into an area of life he’ll nurture until retirement (some 50 years from now!) it’s a bit of a milestone for me, too. My husband and I have raised a son who knows the value of work!

But as he was getting ready for his first day, I told him what my brother told me when I was getting ready for my very first day of work: the first day is the hardest, it’ll only get better once you know the ropes.

Of all the jobs I’ve had over the years there is one constant element that made each one of them memorable. It wasn’t the work, it was the people I worked with. I’ve met some of my best friends among co-workers—something I’m sure my son will discover in the coming years.

Even with writing, one of those careers that seems entirely solo, it’s the friends sharing this journey that increase the pleasure of the job. I’m giving a hearty wave to Vicki Hinze here, who has been one of my favorite encouragers ever since we met! And it’s not only writers, but editors, too, who have added so much to my career. When working with a traditional publisher, the editors come alongside a writer as cheerleader and offer input that can mirror the author’s own enthusiasm for whatever project they’re producing together. And now, having branched out to independent publishing, I’m once again reminded of the value of friends.

Independently published authors must surely rank among the most generous of those in the publishing field. I’ve never been around a group of people more willing to share what they’ve discovered! Everything from the “how-to” steps to various marketing successes, they’re there with input and encouragement.

So today even though I’m thinking of “work friends”, I just wanted to remind everyone not to take any of our friends for granted. Whether our lives go for better or worse, the rich path or the poor one, in sickness or in health, hopefully our spouses will be there, but so will our friends!

About Maureen Lang

Author of a dozen novels, Maureen Lang has won the Selah Award, a Holt Medallion, FHL's Reader's Choice Award, and been a finalist in such contests as the Christy, the Rita, the Carol, Book Buyer's Best, and others. Before publication she was the recipient of a Golden Heart and a Genesis (then called the Noble Theme). She resides with her husband and kids in the Chicago area. Titles by Maureen Lang All In Good Time Bees In The Butterfly Garden Springtime Of The Spirit Whisper On The Wind Look To The East My Sister Dilly On Sparrow Hill The Oak Leaves Remember Me Pieces Of Silver
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Vicki Hinze and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

