When Words Wound by Julie Arduini

sampabba9c512fce250b
2015 so far has had a lot of “stuff” I never saw coming. I’m a thinker and as I tried to process it all I realized everything I was dealing with was word related. When I thought even further I realized they were wounded words.

  • Negative statements uttered in anger
  • Snap judgments shot in fear and most likely anger
  • Barbs sent in the name of justice that wasn’t my battle to fight

Unfortunately this isn’t one instance and none of them are related. I could have handled one issue better but overall these were attacks that came without provocation. As a natural encourager who loves lifting others up, and an author who enjoys the written word, this has been a new thing experiencing words that were uttering the power of death.

How does one overcome that?

I realized fast I wasn’t going to pick myself up and move forward without the Lord’s help. The real me wanted to say the right thing, the perfect comeback, the rebuttal to all those things. But I knew wounded people wound people.

And I didn’t want to be next in line.

A few praying friends saw my distress and immediately prayed. When they finished, one of them gave me a card.

You guessed it.

More words.

These were words of life.

You are my hiding place;
 you will protect me from trouble
 and surround me with songs of deliverance. Psalm 32:7, NIV

She went on to explain that the trouble are words used against me. Words that wound. Attacking words. Words of death.

The songs of deliverance?

Those are God’s words. Words that heal. Words that encourage. Words of life.

And His words trump all other words. All negative. All attacks. All barbs. All death-filled words.

I hope this little season ends and soon.

But I’ve taken away a good lesson.

Even in the darkest moments, especially in the maelstrom of horrible words, I’m surrounded by His words. His promises. His comfort.

And so are you.

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When Words Wound by Julie Arduini

  1. theresetravis758700495 says:

    much needed. Praying for you, Julie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

