Do Not Worry

I recently moved Mississippiacross the country, well, from south to north. It was a huge move. Think hot and now cold. This time last year I lived in Louisiana, where the Mississippi River empties into the Gulf, and now I live where the river freezes over, at least the top layers. But hey, I’m loving it! Except the move created a lot of additional work in my life on top of everything else I have going on, which frankly might be too much. After all, I home school three boys and I write books. Writing books means a lot more than you might think—writing a book is a huge endeavor all on its own. But these days, there’s more, so much more to be done.
With the shift to digital age, authors have to do much more than simply write their book—they have to blog in multiple places, and Twitter and Facebook and Instagram and the list just keeps going. Where in the world does a person find time to write a book? Much less live life.

 Take time to smell the roses or maybe play a game of Scrabble.

Hence I recently found myself waking up every morning and dreading the day. Have you ever done that? If so, then read on. I’ve decided this has everything to do with having too much to do and failing at everything. I’m afraid to face the day. Fear has resulted in dread. I’ve been so overwhelmed I’m starting to have panic attacks. Because I’m a driven person, I heap even more on my plate—my goals and thing I’d like to accomplish.

 More, more, give me more.

I keep thinking this isn’t the life Jesus wanted me to live. Too much busyness isn’t what Jesus wanted for us, is it? When you think about it, He changed the world one step at a time. One person at a time.

 

He just walked along the path and took care of things as they came His way.

 

He wasn’t thinking about his long to-do list and wondering how He would ever get it done. We have a tendency to think far into the future, grabbing every potential opportunity—things we don’t want to miss—onto our plate. I think we might do this out of fear, too. We’re afraid we’ll miss something. Add to that, we worry about the future.

 

On that note, I have to share something I thought was profound. Did you ever see  After Earth with Will and Jaden Smith?
In the movie, Will Smith said this about fear.

“Fear is not real. The only place that fear can exist is in our thoughts of the future. It is a product of our imagination, causing us to fear things that do not at present and may not ever exist. That is near insanity. Do not misunderstand me danger is very real but fear is a choice.”
― Will Smith

What good words!
Granted he was talking about the fear of a very real monster in the movie. But I can easily apply that to my dread of tackling my lists of tasks–facing my monsters of the day! My fear that I’ll fail.

 

 FEAR IS A CHOICE.

 

So maybe I need to take a deep breath when I wake up in the morning and chill out. Be at peace with whatever comes my way, my to-do list. Maybe I should just live the day as it comes instead of believing everything is so urgent.

 

Like Jesus says, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34

 

Maybe instead I should wake up and think, “This is the day the Lord has made and be glad in it!” (my paraphrase of Psalm 118:24)

 

It’s a choice.

 

I invite you to do the same. Who is with me?



 

goddard-LR-new-4 (2) blackandwhitebackfire coverElizabeth Goddard is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than twenty romance and romantic suspense novels and counting. To find out more, visit her website at http://elizabethgoddard.com

COMING SOON: Backfire, (Mountain Cove book 3) Fleeing Alaska and cutting all ties could be the only way to survive…but it would mean leaving her heart behind.

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Do Not Worry

  1. Thank you! I needed this. I do the same thing. I get too busy and I dread the day ahead. I really like your idea of waking up with the thought of “This is the day the Lord has made and be glad in it.”

    Like

  2. Vicki Hinze says:

    I am. It’s so easy to wake up overwhelmed, especially when “just one more things” keep piling on. And it’s hard to stay focused where you need to focus. We tend to fill every second.

    Your post is an affirmation to me, and I wanted to let you know it. Just yesterday, the overwhelms were threatening and I told Hubby, “I’m a writer. I have a license to daydream–it’s part of my job. I can’t write, if I don’t have time to think.”

    Anyway, I shut down the computer and took a few hours to just be. I knew I needed that. I did not know how badly I needed that.

    The interesting thing? When I started writing, it came like a flood, fast and furious. Fifteen pages in a little over an hour.

    There are lessons here…

    Like

  3. beemama5 says:

    What a wonderful post. Lots of food for thought.
    Being a Southern girl myself I hope you adapt to your new clime.

    Like

    • bethrachg says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I actually love the cold and especially the snow, which usually melted by noon if we ever got it. Now it stays until the spring melt. 🙂

      Like

      • Great read! Very down to earth and much of what we all feel at some time or another.
        Like Paul said “gotta run the race to acheive the goal”. (Paraphrase) So lets you and I put on our runnig shoes.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful and wise words, Beth. Be blessed and keep smiling! Hugs, Denyse

    Like

  5. Pingback: Do Not Worry, Part 2: Eagles | Christians Read

Leave a Reply

