Unexpected Points of Connection by Camy Tang

c7fab8453b8809aaafd2f13905e6c8d06a921350

Recently, one of the twenty-somethings who is part of my worship team at church told me about a new game she and other kids are playing called Tsum Tsum. You create an account in an app called Line, and then download the Tsum Tsum app and sign in with your Line account.

Apparently a lot of people at church like using Line for instant messaging with family and friends overseas such as in Japan. Since my church is bilingual with a Japanese language service, we have a lot of people who have relatives in Japan, and they use Line to keep in touch.

But Tsum Tsum is a game designed by Disney, and they use Disney characters in a game that is very similar to Bejeweled Blitz. The game captured me because the characters (called “Tsums”) are absolutely adorable! And then the game became really addictive. Since I work at my computer, I have to get up and walk around every hour. Tsum Tsum is perfect because I can walk around and play on my phone for 5 minutes, then go back to work.

But what also happened was that it gave me something to talk about with the kids at church. Many of them play Tsum Tsum and they’d add me as their Tsum Tsum friend because your friends can send you hearts, or lives. You use one heart per game, which is about a minute, and you get a new heart every 15 minutes. But if you have friends, they can send you hearts so you can play more games.

I would talk Tsum Tsum with the kids at church, discussing the different Tsums (which have different abilities) and how to get more points. Some kids at my church are freaky good at Tsum Tsum, but I’ve found that I can hold my own with most of them, which is really neat!

This simple game has drawn me closer to the younger people at my church. I see their names each week as I play Tsum Tsum and they give me hearts and I give hearts back to them. We have something to talk about after church on Sundays. I am not deluding myself into thinking I’ve suddenly become “cool” to them, but I’m not as much as a fuddy-duddy as I used to be, I think. 🙂

Any of you play Tsum Tsum? Be sure to add me as a friend on Line! My user ID is camy_tang.

About Camy Tang/Camille Elliot

Camy writes romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com and http://www.camilleelliot.com to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.
This entry was posted in Camy Tang, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

