WOULD YOU READ ON? by Kristen Heitzmann

My topic for the mini-conference is writing compelling stories. Thought I’d take this chance to see if I practice what I plan to preach. So be honest now…would you read on?

WRITERS’ QUARREL © Kristen Heitzmann

Devin Bressard scarcely blinked when Grace tossed her sweet tea in his face.

His eyes went flat as hammered steel, his tone even flatter. “Feel better?”

“Waste of a good sweet tea.”

“Sorry for your loss.” He took a napkin from the arm of a server instantly beside him.

He wasn’t sorry for anything. She snatched her purse and stood. “It’s a perfect end to this fiasco.”

“I hope you don’t expect me to stand.” His eyes flicked to the ice cubes nestled in his lap like dice.

“I wouldn’t expect it of you anyway.” She stalked past the gaping Manhattan diners. Throwing a drink at Devin Bressard had not been on her things-to-do-before-thirty list, but she inserted it and dragged a bold, red line through.

His failure to appreciate her prose or connect with her characters was one thing. But to scorn the tragic twist in the plot? To say it gave him the best laugh of his week, the bellyache kind he hadn’t experienced since childhood? What ever happened to professional courtesy?

She swallowed the lump that had no business in her throat. Readers anticipated the twists that plunged her characters into predicaments he found amusing. She nodded to the maître ‘d, accepted her coat from the attendant, and slid a tip into his palm.

He caught her hand. “Can I buy you a drink, Ms. Evangeline?”

“Thank you no. I just disposed of my last one.”

Her novels were humorous—in the repartee—poignant and triumphant. Emails, tweets, and blogs proved the stories touched people. Her interviews and appearances were overwhelmingly positive. Why should she care what one man thought?

This entry was posted in Honored Alumni, Kristen Heitzmann, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to WOULD YOU READ ON? by Kristen Heitzmann

  1. You got me. My first question that comes to mind: Heavens! Now what was that all about. My first thought: oh, these two have some kind of history . . . Not necessarily together what related. Now I want to know if I’m right. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lou Barba says:

    Sounds like she lives by the law of the jungle, whatever the circumstances were with the guy.

    Lou Barba

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wendy Coy says:

    Yes, I would read on. I am definitely intrigued. And hoping they aren’t BOTH hopelessly insufferable!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Marianne Barkman says:

    YES. I would. So anxious to find out more.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wendy A. says:

    I have to agree. I’d want to read on. The tension between the two was enough to make me wonder what their past history was and why he (still?) affected her so deeply–at least deeply enough for her to make a public scene. Sounds intriguing….

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kay W. says:

    Where’s the rest of the story!?! I can’t wait!

    Like

  7. amethyst212 says:

    cat claws and hisses!!! yes, I wanna read on!!! who is she?? who is he? what is their connection? methinks more than just business…..

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Shelly says:

    It is clear he hit a nerve. Somehow hitting the heart of her vulnerability like a bulls-eye. She seems to have allowed something professional to become personal. Exploring how they came to that moment, and what.will happen beyond it, has my full attention.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

