Following God’s Directive by Camy Tang

I am not perfect but I really do try to do what I think God wants me to do, no matter how scary, or crazy, or unpleasant that seems to be.

However, I’m not the best at hearing when God’s trying to speak to me. It could be because I am just bad at listening, although I’ve worked at it to get better over the years.

But about two and a half years ago, I heard a really clear message from God about a book He wanted me to write. It’s a different genre, and a different audience, and I bobbed my head and said, “Yes, Lord, no problem. I’ll finish the contracts I have and then work on it.”

And I never did. I got more contracts, which seemed like blessings from Heaven considering how much we need the money to pay the mortgage. But they distracted me from the book He wanted me to write.

Well, lately I’ve been feeling God gently reminding me about that book. It seems every Bible study I do and every passage I read is talking about fulfilling God’s purpose for you and following His instructions.

Yes, two and a half years is a really long time for God to wait for me to start work on this book. God’s been pretty patient with me, all things considered.

So after a lot of prayer and talking it over with my husband (who, ironically, has been nagging me for two years about the book God asked me to write), I’m finishing a contracted manuscript due this month (in a week, actually) and not submitting proposals to my publishers, so that I can have contract-free time to write this book that God wants me to write. It’s super scary but also super exciting because I’m looking forward to writing the book!

By the way, the genre is dystopian. It probably won’t be for the Christian market, but it’ll be a clean read. Pray for me!

About Camy Tang/Camille Elliot

Camy writes romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com and http://www.camilleelliot.com to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.
This entry was posted in Camy Tang, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Following God’s Directive by Camy Tang

  1. Maureen Lang says:

    Sounds exciting, Camy! God’s paths are rarely boring. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

