Crazy Little Thing by Kristen Heitzmann

This morning the craziest thing happened. I wrote the final words to a novel. Crazy? Why is it crazy for a storyteller with 20 published novels to be sitting in amazement at that fact? Well, for starters, I haven’t finished one in quite some time. I know…you’re all bobbing your heads up and down in agreement. Stop before you put your necks out.

Next, it wasn’t one I’ve been working on. For those of you waiting for Indomitable, I apologize. Nor is it the revised historical series I’ve told you about. Both of those are still coming. Someday. But this…here’s how it happened. A very dear friend of mine has come to live with us through a difficult time in her life. You may not know what that means to an author, so I’ll tell you in two words: Captive Audience.

Shortly before the holidays, we got talking about my writing and the novel Halos that I originally wrote for her as a Christmas gift. That made me say, “Oh, I should read you this romantic comedy I’ve been playing with.” To which she said something like, “Twist my arm.”

So I started reading her what I had and it caught fire. I don’t know how else to explain it. I’d start writing at, oh, 7:30 a.m. and write until 5:30 a.m. catch two hours of reluctant sleep or just not bother because it was such a waste when I could be writing. In between I did eat some, walk some, help plan a kitchen remodel, read to her, and do Christmas, New Year, throw an Epiphany party…and write. It’s been the most fun I’ve ever had in my craft–at least in recent memory.

The crazy thing is it’s unlike anything I’ve written before. It’s funny.

I have had so many years of grief and loss and struggle and striving and growing and pushing for excellence–all of it essential according to God’s perfect will–that this crazy little thing has me astonished. When I typed the last two words, I literally cried, “Hah!” and laughed out loud. Total, total gift. Total, total joy. Wow. Thanks for letting me share.

This entry was posted in Honored Alumni, Kristen Heitzmann, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Crazy Little Thing by Kristen Heitzmann

  1. Tracy Rodgers says:

    So what is the title of this book and when do we get to read it? I already can’t wait!

    Like

    • My working title was A Cynic and Bold Grace, but my agent hates it so I may have to come up with another. The character is Grace Evangeline and the guy is the rudest funniest sexiest cynic ever so…

      Like

  2. Jackie Drake says:

    So grateful that God has given you such a special gift. We will all be blessed by it.

    Like

  3. Congratulations!! Rejoicing with you! 🙂

    Like

  4. Wendy says:

    It sounds incredibly fun, and I’m sure your joy spilled all over the pages! Can’t wait to read it – and the publication date would be…? (and are you going to explore “cynic” and “grace” further? Cynic’s Grace, for example? Wait, you’re the author, you’ve already thought of that. Nor would the publisher like it any better. I’ll pray you find the perfect title instead!)

    Like

  5. Tamara says:

    Congratulations! I, along with your other followers, will wait patiently (well, maybe not patiently). So excited for you. I am also so excited with the books I have read lately from the indie market. Great writing, amazing Christian messages, but not the overly sanitized novels prevalent in the Christian market. Can’t wait!

    Like

  6. Shirley Strait says:

    Kristen is one of my favorite authors.

    Like

  7. mary rhoten says:

    So excited! It’s not often that I find a book that makes me laugh ( I actually remember the first one!) so I’m anxiously waiting for your foray into humor since laughter is the best medicine!

    Like

  8. Rebecca D says:

    How exciting, I can’t wait to read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

