Speedy Days by Maureen Lang

In recent years a few of my friends have retired. I’m not sure how it happened that I should already be at the point where people in my life are old enough to be in their “Golden Years” but here I am. Or rather, here we are.

One thing that seems universal to those who are now in control of how they spend their day is how fast they fill up. It’s incredibly easy to find something to do! Time never slows down, especially as we get older. I once asked my mother, then in her 70s, if time went slower after she and my dad were both home all the time. She just shook her head and said the days go faster than ever.

At the time I thought that sounded so impossible. How can time go fast for someone with health limitations and living a simple life of leisure? Well, I may not be in my 70s yet but it does seem to me that with each passing year time does seem to be speeding up, not slowing down.

So today my goal is to slow down time. I don’t have hurry through my Bible reading; I can take a moment to marvel at creation; I can certainly find the time to count my blessings instead of just hurtling through life not even aware of how grateful I am to be living where I do, with the people I have around me, and healthy enough to enjoy it all.

Next January will likely be here as quickly as this January arrived. I know I can’t really slow down the clock. But I can make a few moments linger along the way!

About Maureen Lang

Author of a dozen novels, Maureen Lang has won the Selah Award, a Holt Medallion, FHL's Reader's Choice Award, and been a finalist in such contests as the Christy, the Rita, the Carol, Book Buyer's Best, and others. Before publication she was the recipient of a Golden Heart and a Genesis (then called the Noble Theme). She resides with her husband and kids in the Chicago area. Titles by Maureen Lang All In Good Time Bees In The Butterfly Garden Springtime Of The Spirit Whisper On The Wind Look To The East My Sister Dilly On Sparrow Hill The Oak Leaves Remember Me Pieces Of Silver
This entry was posted in Maureen Lang, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

