New Year’s Reading Resolutions by Camy Tang

Happy New Year!! One thing I love about the new year is setting my goals for the coming year. That usually involved work-related goals, but the past few years I’ve also been including reading goals.

I used to think reading goals weren’t important, but this past year especially I’ve been seeing how my fiction reading has helped me. Obviously it helps my writing by keeping me up to date with other novels published in the book market, and it also helps refill my creative well.

But even outside of my writing, my reading helps me on a deeply personal level. God often uses fiction to draw me closer to Him. Sometimes a story can speak to a specific issue I’m dealing with or can touch me in a new way. Reading also relaxes me like a little oasis in my day, a time just for me and not anyone else. It makes me feel better equipped to handle the other stresses in my day.

So I’ve put more emphasis on my fiction reading resolutions and make it as important as my work-related and health-related resolutions.

For me, I’ve entered a few reading challenges on Goodreads. I hope to read about 50 books from my Kindle this coming year and 50 books from my physical TBR pile … which won’t really make a huge dent in it, alas. For fun I calculated how high my physical TBR pile would be if I stacked them on top of each other and found out my TBR pile would be at least 50 feet high!!!!

How about you? What are your reading resolutions?

TI cover webCamy’s latest romantic suspense is Treacherous Intent.

DANGER AT HER DOORSTEP

Private investigator Elisabeth Aday thinks her California women’s shelter is a safe haven—until skip tracer Liam O’Neill shows up. While searching for a missing woman, Liam unwittingly puts Elisabeth in the crosshairs of the deadly drug gang that is trailing his target. To stay alive, they must find the woman before the gang finds them. And when a second rival gang joins the search, the threats multiply. Deep in the lair of notorious drug dealers, Elisabeth can’t tell which is more dangerous—the criminals after her…or her growing feelings for the man at her side.

Buy Treacherous Intent on Kindle, iBooks, Kobo, Nook.

About Camy Tang/Camille Elliot

Camy writes romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She is a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com and http://www.camilleelliot.com to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.
This entry was posted in Camy Tang and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

