I’m Not Ready by Julie Arduini

You know the phrase, “Be careful of what you wish for, you just might get it?”

IMAGE_024 (3)

I wasn’t ready for two feet of snow a couple years ago.

I was thinking about that when I looked at the pictures from Greater Buffalo earlier this week. I heard a lot of people say how they wanted snow. The people who saw 50+ inches of snow, yes, nearly 5 FEET of snow in a day, most likely were saying they didn’t ask for that. Who could be ready for such an event?

It’s the same for couples with infertility. Before certain medications or procedures they are warned that there could be such success that they could end up with multiples. I dealt with infertility and even learning I was having one after praying for so long and hard still gave me fear. I got what I wanted and I remember saying to my husband as birth was imminent, “I’m not ready!”

With the holidays, I know how easy it is to get caught up in the events of the season and the massive to-do list that comes with it. No matter how early we wake up to prepare there’s a knock on the door and it hits me it’s show time. I look around and see a kitchen in chaos. Things I missed cleaning in other rooms. The guests are in the entry taking off their coats. “But wait, I’m not ready!”

This sentiment is exactly what I’m feeling with my first release out. I’ve worked years for this. Reading, writing, revising chapters only to tweak again. Now Entrusted is out and it’s a new road. I’m creating guest blog spots, interviews, media releases, updating my website, recruiting reviews and influencers. There’s writing deadlines for the second and third books in the series.

As I’ve tried to juggle these things against two kids in dramas, one also in driving school, helping the other with homework, cleaning a new house and keeping everyone dressed and fed, I’ve wanted to scream, “Wait! I’m not ready!”

No matter what we’re facing that seems too daunting to deal with, this I know: God equips. It’s His nature.Whether it’s a national weather event in my back yard or a new author trying to make the public aware of , it’s hard stuff.

What have you been wishing for that now that it’s here you’re in a panic saying, I’m not ready!

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Julie Arduini, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

