The Newbie Perspective by Julie Arduini

It’s been off air for awhile but as a newlywed I remember watching ER with my husband. What I enjoyed was watching the show from the newbie’s POV, point of view. When the show started it was Carter, the resident under the tough Dr. Benton. At first he was unsure and trying to prove himself against his never-impressed mentor. We saw through this eyes the highs and the lows. Life and death. When it was Carter’s time to move on to other things, he evolved into a top notch doctor who was a colleague. It was a beautiful transition to watch through the years.

I’m not a doctor and I don’t play one on TV but I can relate to the ER journey. Through the years readers have walked with me as I transitioned from a writer of a rough draft to a critique partner and editor. As I queried and waited. Rejoiced as I signed a contract with Write Integrity Press.

And here we are.

This week I released the cover to Entrusted, my first Adirondack contemporary romance, to the public. I’ve heard from other authors with multiple books. The day they see the final cover, the times the mail carrier drops off a box of books fresh off the press, it never gets old.

Set for release this month, you can mark Entrusted as a "want to read" on Goodreads and join Julie Arduini there as she talks about the book and writing.

Set for release this month, you can mark Entrusted as a “want to read” on Goodreads and join Julie Arduini there as she talks about the book and writing.

The plan is for Entrusted to release this month. I’ve sent in the galleys/proofs. It has an ISBN number. Goodreads has officially recognized it, and me. The work really revs up now as it’s no good to write a book and not market it. My prayer is many will not only become aware of Entrusted, they will want to purchase it. They will purchase extra copies for Christmas gifts. They will realize reviews are important for future work for the author, so they will leave honest and kind reviews.

I admit, I feel like Dr. Carter and I’m blessed because there is no Dr. Benton. As wise as he was, he had a lousy bedside manner. I have my Heavenly Father guiding and cheering me on. I have a publisher that believes in me and fellow authors who are like family.

I’m pretty sure there are episodes where Dr. Carter got a procedure right and when no one was looking, he was in a hallway doing a dance or a fist pump in the air.

Been there, still doing that.

Is there anything you’ve accomplished that was a transition that started as the new person? Can you relate?

You’re Invited: I’ll be across social media talking about Entrusted, writing, faith, chocolate and life in general. I have a group at Goodreads and would love for you to join. The same for G+ and Facebook. I’d love for you to follow me on Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram, too.

About juliearduini

Julie Arduini loves to encourage readers to surrender the good, the bad, and ---maybe one day---the chocolate. She’s the author of ENTRUSTED: Surrendering the Present, as well as ENTANGLED: Surrendering the Past. The last book in the series, ENGAGED: Surrendering the Future, is coming soon. Her devotional, FINDING FREEDOM THROUGH SURRENDER, features the surrender themes and characters from the series. She also shares her story in the infertility devotional, A WALK IN THE VALLEY. She blogs every other Wednesday for Christians Read, and starting April 2017, will be part of the Inspy Romance blog. She resides in Ohio with her husband, two children, and secret chocolate stash. Learn more by visiting her at http://juliearduini.com, where she invites readers to subscribe to her monthly newsletter full of resources and giveaway opportunities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

