The Life in Our Stories

I haven’t blogged here for a few weeks, well, maybe a few months. But life has interfered and not in small ways. My husband and I are risk-takers, and when you’re in ministry, sometimes that means moving. A lot. We’ve had a couple of moves this year and are looking at another one. I won’t bore you with the details of the struggles that went with those moves, but will tell you that on top of everything, I also had four books to write. Still have one more to finish. For those of you who haven’t written a novel, that’s a lot to write when there is nothing else going on in your life. For most of us, anyway.
Ecclesiastes 12:12 says, “Of making many books there is no end. . .”
I look at my bookshelves—all those books we’ve had to move—and I know it’s true. Take a look at Neil Gaiman’s bookshelves.

Think about it. How do we come up with stories for so many books?
Writing requires thousands of hours in a chair staring at a computer. But writing also requires engaging in life in a big way. We can’t create amazing stories if we haven’t experienced at least something, some small spark of inspiration. As writers, we’ve trained our imaginations to take even the smallest inspiration and create big stories.
So I can take all my harrowing experiences this year and spin numerous stories from them. For just one example, I have a deeper understanding of those who find themselves homeless, and what it means to truly live by faith. I know these things will show up in my stories somewhere.
I know there can be no end to writing books, that is, until God says it’s time to stop. In the meantime, I’ll keep on living and taking risks, and I’ll keep on writing.
Blessings,
Elizabeth

____________________________________

Elizabeth Goddard is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than twenty novels. To receive book news about latest releases, sign up for her newsletter at http://elizabethgoddard.com

Get her latest release: A GRAND TETON SLEIGH RIDE

AGrandTetonSleighRide

This entry was posted in Elizabeth Goddard, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

