Dear Hannah, Praying for Patience!

Advice to the Lovelorn Man

Waiting on God

Here’s another letter to me from a character in one of our books, but this time you won’t have to work too hard to suspend disbelief. It’s based on something that is taking place in our lives right now, so it’s near to the heart.

Dear Hannah,

I’m in limbo, and I don’t know how much longer I can live this way. I was so sure my dream was being destroyed last year when my fiance broke our engagement. I was offered a job in the city. The job ended several months ago.

When I came home and managed to reconnect with my former fiance, we realized we’d never stopped loving each other. My dream has always been to open a family practice here in my hometown, but now old enemies from the past have decided to attack me no matter where I go. I thought this dream was a calling from God, but maybe it isn’t. I just don’t know. How can you know when God’s calling you to something?

Joy

 

Dear Joy,

I’m sure you know all the typical answers to this question. Remain connected to God by reading your Bible often–that means daily–and pray daily, more than once a day, pray about everything. Remain in contact with other believers, and open your life to God in every situation so you’ll be used by Him.

Many times God’s answer is simply “Wait.” That means you keep doing what you’re doing, putting one step ahead of the other and keep moving forward unless you run into a roadblock. Sometimes the wait can last for years, even decades. Never lose sight of your dream, but pray about it. Be willing to take a detour if a roadblock appears and that’s what you have to do. If God is calling you to a particular thing, you’ll do it in His time, not yours. God has told me to wait many times in my life, and instead, I rushed ahead. I was always sorry later. Don’t do what I did.

I wish you well on your journey. I have a feeling your dreams and God’s calling on your life will intersect, but you need to wait.

With love,

Hannah

 

 

 

About alexanderhodde

I love to write, I love to read (in that order) and I love to hike. My husband loves to fly remote control model airplanes, when he can get them into the air.
This entry was posted in Hannah Alexander and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Hannah, Praying for Patience!

Leave a Reply

